Triathletes perform well at English National Cross Champs 2017

Chief Correspondent

Ben Dijkstra takes Silver at English National Cross Country Champs

Top-10 finishes for Richard Horton and Georgia Taylor-Brown in the Senior races

Saturday saw the 2017 English National Cross Country Championships held in Wollaton Park, Nottingham.

And that, of course, gives rise to my now traditional look at which familiar triathlete / duathlete names are mixing it up at the front end of the races with the single-sport specialists.

Leading the way and winning the Silver medal in the Men’s Junior race was Ben Dijkstra. A winner at this championship three years ago at Under-15 level, Dijkstra still has several years left in the Junior ranks, so this represents a great start to the year for the 2016 ITU World Junior Triathlon Championship Bronze medallist.

British Elite Duathlon Champion Richard Horton was ninth in the Senior men’s race, closely followed by Callum Johnson and Carl Avery.

In the Senior women’s championship, Georgia Taylor-Brown also cracked the top-10 to finish eighth, with Sophie Coldwell 14 seconds further back in 12th. With running arguably Sophie’s weakest discipline, that’s also a great start to year for her – and was also a great present for her 22nd birthday!


Senior Men Championship – 12km

1st – Ben Connor (Derby Athletics Club) – 39:35
2nd – Alex Teuten (Southampton Athletic Club) – 39:49
3rd – Sam Stabler (Owls AC Leicester) – 39:50

9th – Richard Horton (Shaftesbury Barnet Harriers) – 40:23
12th – Callum Johnson (Gateshead Harriers & AC) – 40:29
18th – Carl Avery (Morpeth Harriers & AC) – 40:50

Senior Women Championship – 8km

1st – Jess Judd (Cheltenham AC) – 29:07
2nd – Louise Small (Aldershot, Farnham & District) – 29:10
3rd – Clare Duck (Leeds City Athletics Club) – 29:21

8th – Georgia Taylor-Brown (Sale Harriers Manchester) – 30:10
12th – Sophie Coldwell (Charnwood AC) – 30:24

Junior Men Championship – 10km

1st – Ellis Cross (Aldershot, Farnham & District) – 32:25
2nd – Ben Dijkstra (Leicester Coritanian AC) – 32:29
3rd – Paulos Surafel (Enfield & Haringey AC) – 32:41

Junior Women Championship – 6km

1st – Harriet Knowles-Jones (Warrington AC) – 22:03
2nd – Gemma Holloway (Thurrock Harriers) – 22:48
3rd – Philippa Stone (Middlesborough Athletic Club) – 23:04

15th – Serena O’Connor (Poole Runners) – 24:33

U17 Men Championship – 6km

1st – James Puxty (Tonbridge AC) – 20:28
2nd – Lachlan Wellington (City of Portsmouth AC) – 20:31
3rd – George Groom (Shaftesbury Barnet Harriers) – 20:32

15th – Daniel Slater (Liverpool Pembroke & Sefton) – 21:22

U17 Women Championship – 5km

1st – Amelia Quirk (Bracknell AC) – 18:35
2nd – Phoebe Barker (Tonbridge AC) – 18:42
3rd – Alex Brown (Herne Hill Harriers) – 18:57

10th – Libby Coleman (Sutton in Ashfield Harriers & AC) – 19:34

U15 Girls Championship – 4km

1st – Olivia Grace Mason (Border Harriers & AC) – 15:47
2nd – Charlotte Alexander (Herne Hill Harriers) – 15:58
3rd – Ella Minivan (Liverpool Harriers & AC) – 16:16

5th – Espeth Grant (Matlcok Harriers Club) -16:38

U13 Girls Championship – 3km

1st – Maisy Luke (Cornwall AC) – 12:53
2nd – Dalis Jones (Wesbury Harriers) – 13:07
3rd – Lizzy Edge (Rushcliffe AC) – 13:13


Latest News
RaceRanger draft zone sticker 2023
Red light for the draft zone – RaceRanger tech gets go ahead for Ibiza
Lionel Sanders and Rudy Von Berg sprint at IRONMAN 70.3 Oceanside 2022 Photo Credit: Donald Miralle / IRONMAN
No go for ‘No Limits’ as Lionel Sanders rules himself out of Oceanside
IRONMAN 70.3 Oceanside 2022: Jackson Laundry winning
IRONMAN 70.3 Oceanside: Start time, watch live and preview
Gwen Jorgensen takes third place on comeback race in Taupo 2023 photo credit Simon Dawson Photography
‘I’m not going to quit yet’ – Gwen Jorgensen vows to fight on
Podium New Plymouth World Cup 2023 Lovseth photo credit Cameron Mackenzie / World Triathlon
‘Big Blu’ helps inspire breakthrough display from fellow Norwegian Løvseth