Nathan Tweedie, Emily Alderson win Triathlon England National Aquathlon Championships

The 2018 edition of the Triathlon England National Aquathlon Championships saw two quality winners in Peterborough on Sunday, both showing a clean pair of heels to their swim-run competition at the Monster Aquathlon

Chief Correspondent
Last updated -

The Monster Aquathlon ( at Ferry Meadows Country Park, Peterborough, was the host on Sunday of the 2018 Triathlon England National Aquathlon Championships.

Both the men’s and women’s overall wins were taken in decisive fashion by Nathan Tweedie (LTPC) and Emily Alderson (Lutterworth Cycle Centre Tri Team), both reaching the finish archway with a comfortable margin of victory after excellent swims set up their races.

Tweedie had shown his excellent swim form recently at the British Elite Triathlon Championships in Cardiff, making the early swim breakaway of six (along with eventual winner, Adam Bowden), and then going on to finish eighth overall. Alderson had also raced well in Cardiff, finishing sixth, and that class showed through in Peterborough.

With the recent hot weather providing a non-wetsuit swim, no problem at all for these two super swimmers.

Monster Aquathlon – Sunday 22nd July 2018
Triathlon England National Aquathlon Championships
750m swim / 5km run


Overall Men

1st – Nathan Tweedie (LTPC) – 27:01 (20-24)
2nd – Jamie Price (Cardiff MET University) – 27:51 (20-24)
3rd – Edward Castro (Bedford Harriers) – 28:08 (30-34)
4th – Ben Rawlins (Yate Tri-Stars) – 28:17 (U20)
5th – Ian Aguilar (Tri Preston) – 28:58 (30-34)

Overall Women

1st – Emily Alderson (Lutterworth Cycle Centre Tri Team) – 30:33 (20-24)
2nd – Hannah Dodwell (RAF Triathlon) – 31:30 (20-24)
3rd – Beccy Tipping (BRAT) – 32:01 (25-29)
4th – Sophie Pedder (Royston Swimming Club) – 32:19 (U20)
5th – Claire Vallance (Swimrunners UK) – 33:16 (40-44)

John Levison
Written by
John Levison
TRI247's Chief Correspondent, John has been involved in triathlon for well over 30 years, 15 of those writing on these pages, whilst he can also be found commentating for events across the UK.
Discover more
Beginner Triathlete Race Day Checklist
Triathlon Race Day Checklist – A Beginners Guide
Challenge Kaiserwinkl-Walchsee 2023 - Photo Credit José Luis Hourcade / Challenge Walchsee 2023
How to pace a hilly half distance triathlon – Challenge Kaiserwinkl-Walchsee race day tips
sumarpo triathlon swimming wetsuit
Wetsuit buying guide – How to choose the best wetsuit for triathlon, open water swimming, SwimRun and cold water
Challenge Family Roth
Five things you need to know about the Challenge Roth bike course
Riixo Recovery compression calf sleeves sports recovery
How to relieve sore muscles and recover faster between training sessions
latest News
Bet Potter Paris Test Event 2023 swim
Olympic Games Triathlon: Seine water quality ‘NOT GOOD ENOUGH’ for swimming, just weeks ahead of Paris 2024
Blummenfelt Sanders Currie Kona press conf 2022 photo credit Donald Miralle for IRONMAN
Lionel Sanders shares injury update as he prepares for big race return this weekend
Olympic Games Triathlon Paris Test Event August 2023
‘Under Paris’ film review: We watched this triathlon shark attack movie on Netflix, so you don’t have to
Georgia Taylor-Brown wins WTCS Cagliari 2023
Olympic Games Triathlon: Georgia Taylor-Brown says “light will always win” as she opens up on her tumultuous road to Paris 2024
Spanish triathlete Susana Rodriguez with her Barbie doll.
Paralympic triathlon champion celebrated by Barbie as she gets her own one-of-a-kind doll
triathlon on your terms
Never miss out with our triathlon alerts & digest. Get a dose of adventure & inspiration with Boundless.
Invalid email address
The SBRX Group

Proudly elevating endurance sports through content, products & services

Share to...