WIN a year of riding on ROUVY plus indoor cycling kit bundle

Challenge Gdańsk 2022 results: Dapena Gonzalez and Santimaria star

Pablo Dapena Gonzalez and Margie Santimaria both claimed significant victories in Poland on Sunday

News Director
Last updated -
Rouvy Logo
Ride real routes with ROUVY

Pablo Dapena Gonzalez (ESP) roared back from injury in perfect style with victory at Lotto Challenge Gdańsk on Sunday – his first race for nine months.

And Margie Santimaria (ITA) took the first middle distance win of her career in convincing fashion in the women’s race.


Pro Men – Run proves decisive

It was a three-man battle from start to finish.

Kacper Stępniak (POL) was out of the water first in 23:32, but Sergiy Kurochkin (UKR) was only two seconds back, with Dapena Gonzalez five seconds down.

The trio rode together throughout the 90km bike with chasers never getting within a couple of minutes of them.

However, it was all change on the run when Dapena Gonzalez underlined why it’s his strongest suit. Within the first three kilometres he had put 1:30 into chaser Kurochkin, a lead he continued to extend until he crossed the finish line to take the win in 3:44:47.

Pablo Dapena Gonzalez wins Gdansk 2022 credit Challenge Family
Pablo Dapena Gonzalez wins in Gdansk [Photo credit: Challenge Family}

Kurochkin held onto second in 3:49:22 and Stępniak rounded out the podium in third in 3:51:02.

Pro Women – Santimaria powers clear on bike

In the women’s race, Rosie Weston (GBR) was first out the water in 25:07, nearly two minutes ahead of Santimaria.

She held onto this lead until halfway through the first 30km lap of the bike when Santimaria moved to the front and stayed there, moving further and further clear.

That pattern continued on the run as she claimed a convincing win in 4:20:02.

Margie Santimaria credit Challenge Family
Margie Santimaria crosses the line in triumph [Photo credit: Challenge Family}

Behind her, it was an ever-changing battle for second and third between Paulina Kotfica (POL), Johanna Ahrens (DEU) and Maria Cześnik (POL). Eventually, it was Kotfica who prevailed to take second in 4:27:17 with Cześnik in third on 4:28:54.

Lotto Challenge Gdańsk 2022 results

Sunday 19 June 2022 – 1.9km / 90km / 21.1km

Pro Men

  • 1. Pablo Dapena Gonzalez (ESP) – 3:44:47
  • 2. Kacper Stępniak (POL) – 3:49:22
  • 3. Sergiy Kurochkin (UKR) – 3:51:02

Pro Women

  • 1. Margie Santimaria (ITA) – 4:20:02
  • 2. Paulina Kotfica (POL) – 4:27:17
  • 3. Maria Cześnik (POL) – 4:28:54
Jonathan Turner
Written by
Jonathan Turner
Jonathan Turner is News Director for both TRI247 and RUN247, and is accustomed to big-name interviews, breaking news stories and providing unrivalled coverage for endurance sports.  
Discover more
Challenge Family Roth
Five things you need to know about the Challenge Roth bike course
Pelotan - Kristian Blummenfelt
Training and racing in the heat – top tips for keeping your cool when the heat is on
ROUVY routes and workouts – Best ROUVY routes to get ready for Challenge Roth
Sumarpo vanguard vs Zone 3 Vanquish X triathlon wetsuits
ZONE3 Vanquish X wetsuit vs Sumarpo Vanguard wetsuit – how do these triathlon wetsuits match up?
Rouvy indoor cycling app routes
Virtual training for real life racing – How year-round indoor cycling could benefit your race day performance
latest News
Fanni Szalai Arena Games Sursee 2023 photo credit Darren Wheeler That Cameraman SLT
16-year-old phenom Fanni Szalai spearheads supertri’s ‘NXT Gen’ of triathletes
The swim course in Taupo for the IRONMAN 70.3 World Championship in 2024.
IRONMAN reveal spectacular course for the 2024 IRONMAN 70.3 World Champs in Taupo
Sam Laidlow IRONMAN World Championship 2023 Nice finish line celebration
IRONMAN World Champion ‘trending in the right direction’ ahead of Kona validation race
ST GEORGE, UTAH - MAY 07: Lionel Sanders of Canada reacts as he approaches the finish line to place second during the 2021 IRONMAN World Championships on May 07, 2022 in St George, Utah. (Photo by Tom Pennington/Getty Images for IRONMAN)
IRONMAN Lake Placid fields announced as Sanders, Skipper and more prepare for INSANE showdown
Sam Laidlow IRONMAN World Championship 2023 breaks tape for victory
IRONMAN Vitoria-Gasteiz 2024: Start time, preview and how to watch live
triathlon on your terms
Never miss out with our triathlon alerts & digest. Get a dose of adventure & inspiration with Boundless.
Invalid email address
The SBRX Group

Proudly elevating endurance sports through content, products & services

Share to...