IRONMAN Wales: The Age-Group champions from Tenby 2017

You don't need to be a Pro athlete to go fast. Check out the speedy amateurs from IRONMAN Wales 2017 on an epic day in Tenby.

Chief Correspondent
Last updated -

Who were the speedy amateur athletes at IRONMAN Wales on Sunday?

As you’ll have read in all of the reports coming from Tenby (including – hopefully – OURS!), the 2017 edition of IRONMAN Wales was something of an epic race, with the worst of the British weather combining with the challenging Pembrokeshire course to deliver a race that was quite simply a massive achievement to make it to the finish line.

It was a day for which finish times really should be taken with a pinch of salt – with Thorsten from ranking it, statistically, as the “second slowest ever in an Ironman-branded race”. Such analysis will likely not come as a surprise to those who were there on Sunday.

That aside, times are only a part of an Ironman story, and while Cameron Wurf (AUS) and Lucy Gossage (GBR) walked away with the Pro wins and $8,000 in prize money, there was still fierce racing across the Age-Group ranks, where it is positions that determine podium awards and Kona slots.

Here are the overall top five AG times, followed by all of the category winners.

IRONMAN UK Tenby 2017: Fastest Age-Group athletes



1st – Josie Rawes (GBR) – 11:23:43 – AG 25-29
2nd – Zoe Smith (GBR) – 11:26:43 – AG 35-39
3rd – Rebecca Bennett (GBR) – 11:38:15 – AG 30-34
4th – Caoimhe Ni Murchu (IRL) – 11:51:52 – AG 35-39
5th – Helena Hayes (IRL) – 11:56:05 – AG 18-24



1st – Jens Groenbek (DEN) – 9:50:47 – AG 35-39
2nd – Mariusz Olenjniczak (POL) – 10:00:12 – AG 35-39
3rd – Markus Stohr (GER) – 10:04:11 – AG 25-29
4th – Robert Fryer (GBR) – 10:04:11 – AG 30-34
5th – Simon Lovelock (GBR) – 10:06:36 – AG 30-34

IRONMAN Wales Tenby 2017: Age-Group winners


18-24: Helena Hayes (IRL) – 11:56:05
25-29: Josie Rawes (GBR) – 11:23:43
30-34: Rebecca Bennett (GBR) – 11:38:15
35-39: Zoe Smith (GBR) – 11:26:43
40-44: Joanna Shallcross (GBR) – 12:05:15
45-49: Heike Funk (GER) – 11:59:26
50-54: Joanna Grundle (GBR) – 12:30:25
55-59: Jane Wiley (GBR) – 12:38:28
60-64: Judith Dutton (GBR) – 15:37:49
65-69: Linda Spillane (GBR) – 16:22:26


18-24: Silas Kohn (GER) – 10:51:39
25-29: Markus Stohr (GER) – 10:04:11
30-34: Robert Fryer (GBR) – 10:04:32
35-39: Jens Groenbek (DEN) – 9:50:47
40-44: Marin Koceic (CRO) – 10:14:43
45-49: Paul Lewis (GBR) – 10:18:04
50-54: Michael Noll (GER) – 10:41:04
55-59: Martin Beare (GBR) – 11:58:30
60-64: Jean-Luc Miffand (FRA) – 12:52:59
65-69: William Picton (GBR) – 15:34:51

John Levison
Written by
John Levison
TRI247's Chief Correspondent, John has been involved in triathlon for well over 30 years, 15 of those writing on these pages, whilst he can also be found commentating for events across the UK.


In episode 1 of our new SBRX Show we sit down with ultra runners and coaches Kim and Jayson Cavill to get their take on the Barkley Marathons and triathlon & trail running gear reviews, training tips and more
Discover more
Anne Haug wins IRONMAN Lanzarote 2024
Anne Haug bounces back with SENSATIONAL season opener at IRONMAN Lanzarote
sumarpo triathlon swimming wetsuit
Sumarpo Vanguard triathlon and swimming wetsuit review – Can it challenge the mainstream tri wetsuit brands?
sea swimming sumarpo triathlon wetsuit
How to get faster at open water swimming – triathlon swim training tips to up your race pace
Challenge St. Pölten 2023 - Photo Credit José Luis Hourcade
Best middle distance triathlon bike courses – from the fastest courses to the most epic scenery
Challenge St. Pölten 2023 - Photo Credit José Luis Hourcade
Five reasons to race Challenge St. Pölten – kickstart your race season with this scenic middle distance triathlon
latest News
India Lee (GBR) and Kyle Smith (NZL) celebrate together at the finish line in Samorin.
Victorious India Lee and Kyle Smith react to course record breaking day at The Championship
Challenge Family The Championship 2024 - Men Pro Podium
The Championship results: Full finishing order and times for Kyle Smith, Joe Skipper and more
Challenge Family The Championship 2024 - Women Pro Podium
The Championship results: Full finishing order and times after emphatic India Lee win
India Lee (GBR) took the win at The Championship 2024.
The Championship 2024 women’s results: India Lee takes back-to-back titles and breaks her 2023 record
Kyle Smith took a memorable win at The Championship 2024.
The Championship 2024 men’s results: Kyle Smith smashes the course record with incredible win
triathlon on your terms
Never miss out with our triathlon alerts & digest. Get a dose of adventure & inspiration with Boundless.
Invalid email address
The SBRX Group

Proudly elevating endurance sports through content, products & services

Share to...