TRI247
Search
shop
T100 World Tour
WIN 2 T100 AG ENTRIES - ENTER NOW
WIN 2 T100 AG ENTRIES - ENTER NOW
WIN 2 T100 AG ENTRIES - ENTER NOW

Challenge Wanaka 2022: Virtual is the new reality for NZ race

Hayden Wilde will lead a group ride on ROUVY and then compete virtually in this year's edition of Challenge Wanaka.

Last updated -
SHOP
T100 Triathlon World Tour
Redefining triathlon

Challenge Wanaka 2022 will now take place virtually after the race planned for later this month was cancelled.

Strict restrictions in New Zealand to deal with the COVID-19 pandemic meant the February 19 showpiece had to be called off.

But now competitors will be able to take in the scenic views of Wanaka from the comfort of their own homes – thanks to augmented reality app ROUVY.

Ride on the Wilde side

Olympic bronze medallist and XTERRA World Champion Hayden Wilde, will lead the Challenge Wanaka ROUVY group ride on Tuesday February 15 at 19:00 NZT (06:00 GMT/01:00 ET).

Wilde will then compete with domestic and international athletes on Sunday February 19 at 09:00 NZT (Saturday, February 18 at 20:00 GMT/15:00 ET) – with ROUVY members able to join in with their professional idols. Entry for the race is free.

To enter the race, you will need to register with ROUVY and sign up at the race link once you’ve made a profile.

ROUVY offers a two-week trial without the need to enter payment details – with those who sign up for Challenge Wanaka earning an extra two-week voucher.

Stuart Dick
Written by
Stuart Dick
Stuart is a graduate of the University of Sunderland with a masters' degree in Sports Journalism. He spends a lot of his time running and cycling around West Yorkshire, England.
Discover more
TRI-FIT Geo Coral women's tri suit
TRI-FIT GEO Women’s Tri Suit Review – How does it fare in our quest for the ultimate long course kit?
TRI-FIT women's sleeveless tri suit
5 race day mistakes that are sabotaging your triathlon times (and how to fix them)
Kate Auld riding on an indoor trainer
Rouvy vs Zwift: our indoor cyclists put them to the test
Professional triathletes on the bike course at Challenge Almere-Amsterdam
Fastest triathlon courses: Best IRONMAN, long course and middle distance races for a sure-fire personal best
Patagonman swim start
6 tips for taking on an Xtreme triathlon from a PATAGONMAN champion
latest News
RaceRanger installation PTO European Open 2023 Ibiza
IRONMAN announce new partnership with draft detector RaceRanger for the 2024 season
Steve McKenna got the win at the 40th edition of IRONMAN New Zealand.
Australian star Steve McKenna shares emotional message after IRONMAN New Zealand win
Chelsea Sodaro takes the tape at the 2024 IRONMAN New Zealand.
Former IRONMAN World Champion delighted after bouncing back to first full distance win since Kona
World Triathlon Cup Miyazaki 2023 Gwen Jorgensen
Olympic gold medalist praises Boulder training environment ahead of WTCS season opener
Chelsea Sodaro PTO Asian Open 2023 run [Photo credit: PTO / Darren Wheeler]
IRONMAN New Zealand results: Steve McKenna and Chelsea Sodaro take the tape in Taupo
Story to tell?
Share interesting & inspirational stories with our news team
The SBRX Group

Proudly elevating endurance sports through content, products & services

SBRX
RUN247
Share to...