Corinne Abraham wins Challenge Lisboa

The long run of British success at Challenge Lisboa in Portugal continued on Saturday as Corinne Abraham took the win in Portugal


One of the first, fastest and most popular early season middle distance races of the European summer, Challenge Lisboa has seen a long history of success for British triathletes.

Last years race was dominated by Lucy Charles (report HERE), who this year was busy racing and winning the Outlaw Half in Nottingham. That didn’t stop the title remaining in British hands however as Corinne Abraham (who was sixth last year), returned to Portugal and this year reached the top step of the podium. “Somewhat unexpected, but happy with the performance & of course the result!”.

That result will come as a big boost for Abraham, who has historically shown her best performances over the full distance in a career which has included Continental Championships wins at IRONMAN Melbourne and IRONMAN Frankfurt. In 2017 she finished second at three IRONMAN races: Lnzarote, Austria and Copenhagen.

The men’s race was won by Spain’s Pablo Dapena Gonzalez, who continued his fine 2018 form after victories at Challenge Gran Canaria and second place at Challenge Rome. He will now be in a strong position in the Challenge Family World Ranking, which features a $165,000 bonus pot and $30,000 for the overall winner.

Challenge Lisboa – Saturday 19th May 2018
1.9km / 90km / 21.1km


1st – Pablo Dapena Gonzalez (ESP) – 3:39:11
2nd – Patrick Dirksmeier (GER) – 3:39:48
3rd – Jaroslav Kovacic (SLO) – 3:40:22
4th – Joao Ferreira (POR) – 3:44:51
5th – Johannes Moldan (GER) – 3:44:56


1st – Corinne Abraham (GBR) – 4:00:42
2nd – Katrien Verstuyft (BEL) – 4:04:51
3rd – Bianca Steurer (AUT) – 4:06:03
4th – Margie Santamaria (ITA) – 4:09:49
5th – Hannah Drewett (GBR) – 4:12:12

Challenge Lisboa 2018 women's podium

Love exclusive offers, competitions & opinion?
The revamped TRI247 newsletter is the only place to find exclusive offers, awesome competitions and unique opinon from leading triathlon commentators.