Chrissie Wellington to be inducted into IRONMAN Hall of Fame

Great Britain's four-time IRONMAN World Champion, Chrissie Wellington, will be inducted into the IRONMAN Hall of Fame at Kona next month

Last updated -

IRONMAN, a Wanda Sports Holdings company, announced today that four-time IRONMAN® World Champion Chrissie Wellington, will be inducted into the IRONMAN Hall of Fame. The ceremony will be held on October 11 during race week at the 2017 IRONMAN World Championship triathlon, in Kailua-Kona, Hawai`i.

“Chrissie’s accomplishments in the sport are impressive and it is fitting that she should be inducted in her first year of eligibility,” said Andrew Messick, Chief Executive Officer of IRONMAN. “Chrissie exemplifies the role of an IRONMAN World Champion and has defined what it means to be a professional triathlete in the modern era. Her achievements have furthered the sport and inspired many to become IRONMAN triathletes themselves. We are honored to induct her into the IRONMAN Hall of Fame, joining the other elites of the sport.”

Originally from Norfolk, England, Wellington is a four-time IRONMAN World Champion and carried an undefeated record by winning every full-distance IRONMAN triathlon she started during her professional career. Ultimately, Wellington earned 10 career IRONMAN® triathlon wins and seven IRONMAN 70.3® wins. Wellington also still holds the women’s world record for fastest IRONMAN triathlon finish time of 8:33:56, recorded in 2011 at Spec-Savers IRONMAN South Africa.

Within a year of turning professional, Wellington captured her first IRONMAN World Championship in her debut at the event in 2007, becoming the first British athlete, male or female, to win the race. She would go on to win three additional IRONMAN World Championship titles in 2008, 2009 and 2011. She is one of only three women to win IRONMAN World Championships three consecutive times and set the IRONMAN World Championship course record of 8:54:02 (2009), which stood for five years.

“Once you decide to leave the sport as a professional athlete you think your days of being awarded accolades are over—I am truly humbled and excited to see my name featured among our sport’s greats, whom I have so much admiration and respect for,” said Wellington.

“I devoted five years to being the best athlete I could be. No short cuts, no stone left unturned,” Wellington continued. “I would rather have five years of excellence than 10 years of mediocrity. My life has changed for the better from being able to achieve and experience what I did.”

Chrissie Wellington IRONMAN Hall of Fame

Founded in 1993, the IRONMAN Hall of Fame was created to honor individuals, like Wellington, who have made outstanding contributions to the growth of IRONMAN, the world’s most famous endurance race series. Wellington will join a prestigious list of remarkable individuals honored not only for incredible athletic achievements, but also for what they have given to the sport of triathlon and IRONMAN.

IRONMAN Hall of Fame: 

1993 – Dave Scott
1994 – Julie Moss
1995 – Scott Tinley
1996 – Paula Newby-Fraser
1997 – Mark Allen
1998 – John and Judy Collins
1999 – Valerie Silk
2000 – Tom Warren
2001 – Dr. Bob Laird
2002 – Bob Babbitt
2003 – John MacLean / Gordon Haller / Lyn Lemaire
2004 – Greg Welch
2005 – Jim Maclaren
2008 – Team Hoyt – Rick and Dick Hoyt
2011 – Mike Reilly
2012 – Graham Fraser
2013 – Peter Henning
2014 – Georg Hochegger / Helge Lorenz / Stefan Petschnig
2015 – Lori Bowden / Heather Fuhr
2016 – Lew Friedland / Peter Reid
2017 – Chrissie Wellington

Written by
Press Release


In episode 1 of our new SBRX Show we sit down with ultra runners and coaches Kim and Jayson Cavill to get their take on the Barkley Marathons and triathlon & trail running gear reviews, training tips and more
Discover more
Anne Haug wins IRONMAN Lanzarote 2024
Anne Haug bounces back with SENSATIONAL season opener at IRONMAN Lanzarote
Jenny Lucas-Hill wearing the Sumarpo vanguard triathlon wetsuit
Sumarpo Vanguard triathlon and swimming wetsuit review – Can it challenge the mainstream tri wetsuit brands?
sea swimming sumarpo triathlon wetsuit
How to get faster at open water swimming – triathlon swim training tips to up your race pace
Challenge St. Pölten 2023 - Photo Credit José Luis Hourcade
Best middle distance triathlon bike courses – from the fastest courses to the most epic scenery
Challenge St. Pölten 2023 - Photo Credit José Luis Hourcade
Five reasons to race Challenge St. Pölten – kickstart your race season with this scenic middle distance triathlon
latest News
WTCS Cagliari 2024 Cassandre Beaugrand finish
WTCS Cagliari 2024 women’s results: Beaugrand takes down Potter for MAJOR win
Georgia Taylor-Brown wins WTCS Cagliari 2023
WTCS Cagliari a golden vision as triathlon’s medal superstars plot route to more Olympic Games glory
PRO triathlete and Challenge St Polten champion Tom Hug on the bike course
Challenge St Pölten: Start time, preview and how to watch live
Lauren Steadman speaking microphone
The Lauren Steadman Story: From ‘Strictly’ to ‘Who Dares Wins’, an incredible triathlete AND TV superstar
Georgia Taylor-Brown WTCS Yokohama 2023 finish
WTCS Cagliari: Full women’s start list as Georgia Taylor-Brown chases third successive victory
triathlon on your terms
Never miss out with our triathlon alerts & digest. Get a dose of adventure & inspiration with Boundless.
Invalid email address
The SBRX Group

Proudly elevating endurance sports through content, products & services

Share to...