Jessica Learmonth: ETU Female Triathlete of the Year for 2017

Trophy-winning recognition from the ETU for Jessica Learmonth and Sarah Taylor-Hough at the European Triathlon awards in Moscow


Third annual ETU Awards and Gala Dinner: Moscow

If it’s been a little quiet on the site over the last couple of days, apologies, your Editor has been working (honestly!), overseas, as host/MC of the third annual ETU President’s Gala Dinner, which included the 2017 ETU European Triathlon Awards.

First held two years ago in Paris (HERE) and last year in Rome (HERE), the venue for this year was Moscow, Russia.

The dinner – and the previous days ETU Presidents’ Conference – was wonderfully hosted by the Russian Triathlon Federation, and as always it was an honour to be be asked to host the event that took place on Saturday evening, aboard the Lastochka restaurant-boat on the Moskva river.

Last year, Great Britain won two of the awards – National Federation of the Year and Male Athlete of the Year (Alistair Brownlee) – for the 2016 season, and gained another two this time around.

Last year really was a breakthrough year for Jessica Learmonth (who I recently interviewed). Winner of the European Championships in Kitzbühel, she also gained her first World Triathlon Series podium results in Stockholm and at the Rotterdam Grand Final. Those results made her the highest placed European female in the 2017 WTS Rankings – and a worthy winner of the Female Athlete of the Year award.

While not present to collect the award in person, Jess had sent a video message. Her trophy was collected by the new British Triathlon CEO, Andy Salmon.

Portugal’s Joao Pereira was the winner of the Men’s Athlete of the Year awards, recognising his wins at the ETU Championships over the Sprint, Standard and Clubs Mixed Relay formats.

There was further success and recognition too in the category of Technical Official of the Year for Sarah Taylor-Hough. Sarah was the Technical Delegate for the ITU Rotterdam World Championships and is now an ITU Level 3 official.

Here is the full list of award winners from the evening.

ETU Awards 2017 – Moscow, Saturday 10th March 2017

Emerging / Developing National Federation of the Year – Romania
National Federation of the Year – Spain
Organiser of the Year – Kitzbühel
Technical Official of the Year – Sarah Taylor-Hough (GBR)
Female Athlete of the Year – Jessica Learmonth (GBR)
Male Athlete of the Year – Joao Pereira (POR)
ETU Executive Board Award – Enrique Quesada (ESP)

ETU Presidents' Conference

Article by
Love exclusive offers, competitions & opinion?
The revamped TRI247 newsletter is the only place to find exclusive offers, awesome competitions and unique opinon from leading triathlon commentators.