Paratriathlon team confirmed for ETU European Championships

All of the British Triathlon Rio 2016 Paralympic Games medal winners form part of the GB Paratriathlon team for the ETU European Championships in Kitzbühel


British Triathlon has named a squad of 14 paratriathletes and three guides to take part in the ETU European Championships next month.

The paratriathlon events will take place on Friday 16 June at the Kitzbühel ETU Triathlon European Championships featuring Rio Paralympic medal winners Andy Lewis, Alison Patrick, Melissa Reid and Lauren Steadman.

This year has seen some changes to the classification system, which are explained HERE. As a result, athletes including Steadman and George Peasgood compete in different categories than they did in Rio.

The squad welcomes some new talent, including 21 year-old track athletics star, Jade Jones and former solider, Steve Crowley.

Great Britain Paratriathlon Team; Kitzbühel ETU Triathlon European Championships; 16 June 2017; 750m swim, 20km bike, 5km:

PTHC Women: Jade Jones, Karen Darke, Lizzie Tench

PTS 2 Men: Andy Lewis

PTS 2 Women: Fran Brown

PTS 3 Men: Ryan Taylor

PTS 3 Women: Cassie Cava

PTS 4 Men: Steve Crowley

PTS 5 Men: George Peasgood

PTS 5 Women: Kerry Large, Lauren Steadman

PTVI Men: Dave Ellis (guided by Carl Shaw)

PTVI Women: Alison Patrick (guided by Nicole Walters), Melissa Reid (Guided by Hazel McLeod)

Love exclusive offers, competitions & opinion?
The revamped TRI247 newsletter is the only place to find exclusive offers, awesome competitions and unique opinon from leading triathlon commentators.