Challenge Kaiserwinkl-Walchsee
challenge kaiserwinkl-walchsee

Alpe d’Huez Long Course Triathlon titles to Van Lierde and Bilham

Chief Correspondent

2013 IRONMAN World Champion adds Alpe d’Huez Long Course to C.V.

The 2018 TIME Alpe d’Huez Long Course Triathlon took place yesterday (Thursday), starting from Lac du Vernay, and via 2.2km of swimming, 118km of cycling and 20km of running, finishing at the top of Alpe d’Huez.

The winner of a fifth IRONMAN France title already this year, Belgium’s Frederik Van Lierde took the title at a race he said post-race he has wanted to take part in for many years. He was awarded race #1 and he lived up to that expectation, with a strong second fastest swim / third fastest bike / fourth fastest run which saw him in control from early in the race.

Switzerland’s Emma Bilham had perhaps the biggest win of her career to date, running well to hold off the charge of Alexandra Tondeur (BEL) and Carrie Lester (AUS). The three women were separated by less than two minutes after almost seven hours of

Alpe dHuez Long Course Triathlon – Thursday 2nd August 2018
2.2km / 118km / 20km


1st – Frederik Van Lierde (BEL) – 5:59:52
2nd – Alberto Moreno (ESP) – 6:06:24
3rd – Timothy Van Houtem (BEL) – 6:08:14
4th – Sven Van Luyck (BEL) – 6:10:22
5th – Scott De Filippis (USA) – 6:13:06

29th – Andrew Woodroffe (GBR) – 6:48:58
32nd – Pete Dyson (GBR) – 6:50:13


1st – Emma Bilham (SUI) – 6:51:21
2nd – Alexandra Tondeur (BEL) – 6:52:22
3rd – Carrie Lester (AUS) – 6:53:06
4th – Celine Bousrez (FRA) – 7:04:31
5th – Elisabetta Curridori (ITA) – 7:09:41

11th – Ruth Purbrook (GBR) – 7:40:59
13th – Sophie Bubb (GBR) – 7:52:38
15th – Lucy Biddlestone (GBR) – 7:59:37
19th – Ruth Thom (GBR) – 8:07:26
20th – Elizabeth Richardson (GBR) – 8:11:58


British and Irish podium success at the Alpe d’Huez Long Course Triathlon

  • 2017: Emma Pooley – SECOND – REPORT
  • 2016: Lucy Gossage – SECOND, Parys Edwards – THIRD – REPORT
  • 2015: Emma Pooley – WIN – REPORT
  • 2014: Catriona Morrison – WIN, Lucy Gossage – SECOND, Parys Edwards – THIRD – REPORT
  • 2013: Ritchie Nicholls – WIN, Eimear Mullan (IRL) – SECOND – REPORT
  • 2012: N/A (won by Mary Beth Ellis and Victor del Corral)
  • 2011: Catriona Morrison – WIN, Tamsin Lewis – THIRD – REPORT
  • 2010: Jodie Swallow – WIN – REPORT
  • 2009: N/A (won by Nicola Spirig and Massimo Cigana)
  • 2008: Chrissie Wellington – WIN – REPORT
  • 2007: Chrissie Wellington – WIN, Stephen Bayliss THIRD – REPORT
John Levison
Written by
John Levison
TRI247's Chief Correspondent, John has been involved in triathlon for well over 30 years, 15 of those writing on these pages, whilst he can also be found commentating for events across the UK.
Latest News
Els Visser Fenella Langridge Radka Kahlefeldt Challenge Canberra 2023
IRONMAN Western Australia: Start time, preview and how to follow live
Sam Long wins IRONMAN 703 Gulf Coast 2023 [Photo credit: Julio Aguilar / Getty Images for IRONMAN]
IRONMAN 70.3 Indian Wells: Start time, preview and how to follow live
Collin Chartier - PTO US Open 2022
World Anti-Doping Agency publish List of Prohibited Substances and Methods for 2024
David Tilbury-Davis is one of triathlon's most experienced coaches.
David Tilbury-Davis on the continuum of coaching, imposter syndrome and learning from his athletes
Taylor Knibb IRONMAN World Championship Kona 2023 Bike Leg
What makes Taylor tick? Knibb on learning from experiences, Kona and Nice 2024