T100 World Tour

Volcano Triathlon 2022 results: Barnaby and Perez Sala earn Lanzarote wins

Italy and Spain took the honours as Gregory Barnaby and Sara Perez Sala the clear winners at the Club La Santa Volcano Triathlon

Chief Correspondent
Last updated -
T100 Triathlon World Tour
Redefining triathlon

The Club La Santa Volcano Triathlon has long been a part of the early season triathlon landscape in Europe. The high profile training centre attracts both age-group and Pro athletes to the event – many of them likely in the middle of training camps at the venue!

There has been a long line of British winners in the women’s race on the island which – prior to today – went all the way back to 2015.


Previous Volcano Triathlon winners:

2021: Lydia Dant (GBR) / Raúl Lecuona Gil-Roldán (ESP)
2020: No race
2019: Lucy Charles (GBR) / Emilio Aguayo Muñoz (ESP)
2018: Alice Hector (GBR) / Emilio Aguayo Muñoz (ESP)
2017: Alice Hector (GBR) / Romain Guillaume (FRA)
2016: Alice Hector (GBR) / Kenneth Vandendriessche (BEL)
2015: Corinne Abraham (GBR) / Bert Jammaer (BEL)



We’ve seen the swim strength of Spain’s Sara Perez Sala at several middle distance races over the past 12 months (she matched Lucy Charles-Barclay at Challenge Miami 2021 for example), and thus it was no surprise that she led the way today. Olympic distance this time, she clocked 19:08, to lead Kate Curran (GBR) by 1:45. Italy’s Giorgia Priarone held third place 2:24 behind the Spanish leader.

Lydia Dant, the defending champion (and Outlaw Half Nottingham winner last year), was outside the top-10 and more than four minutes back, though with her strongest disciplines to follow, far from out of contention.

Perez Sala continued to lead from the front, setting the fastest bike split (narrowly…), with Priarone moving up to second place. Defending champion Dant however made her move on two wheels, her 1:03:35 split just two seconds slower than the race leader. Perez Sala started the 10km run with a comfortable lead of more than four minutes, with Priarone and Dant just seconds apart. Another Italian, Marta Bernardi, was however less than a minute back. The race for first place looked clear already, but the rest of the podium was up for grabs.

36:45 for the 10km was enough for to complete a gun-to-tape win for Sara Perez Sala, while 34:36 and 34:20 for Priarone and Bernardi, respectively, secured them the podium positions, with defending champion Dant coming home in fourth


There was an Italian double at the front of the men’s swim, with junior Miguel Espuna Larromona (18:14) 20 seconds up on Gregory Barnaby. Just a few seconds further back was Oscar Hobson, the talented son of long-time British elite athlete, Richard Hobson (who was going to have to use his legendary cycling legs to try and catch junior – though he was still leading the 55-59 division with a 23:07 swim!).

The 40km bike ride saw Barnaby take the lead, but Kristoffer Visti Graae (DEN) was showing the Danish cycling power, making up a minute and a half on the Italian on two wheels, to start the run just 47 seconds back. Per van Vlerken (GER), Chris Standidge (GBR) and Oscar Hobson were among the chasers onto the run, with close on 10 athletes still in podium contention.

Gregory Barnaby completed an all-round performance with a 31:15 run split to take the win, almost four minutes clear of Dieter Comhair (BEL) and the experienced German, Per van Vlerken (GER).

Club La Santa Volcano Triathlon 2022

Saturday 26th February 2022
1.5km / 40km / 10km


  • 1. Gregory Barnaby (ITA) – 1:51:41
  • 2. Dieter Comhair (BEL) – 1:55:37
  • 3. Per van Vlerken (GER) – 1:56:13
  • 4. Nicholas Ward Munoz (ESP) – 1:56:41
  • 5. Kristoffer Visti Graae (DEN) – 1:56:56
  • 6. Chris Standidge (GBR) – 1:57:05
  • 7. Miguel Espuna Larromona (ITA) – 1:57:06
  • 8. Oscar Hobson (FRA) – 1:57:50


  • 1. Sara Perez Sala (ESP) – 2:03:38
  • 2. Giorgia Priarone (ITA) – 2:05:48
  • 3. Marta Bernardi (ITA) – 2:06:32
  • 4. Lydia Dant (GBR) – 2:09:08
  • 5. Marlene de Boer (NED) – 2:10:10
  • 6. Diede Diederiks (NED) – 2:11:27
  • 7. Zairo Lorenzo Perez (ESP) – 2:13:02
  • 8. Anna Birrell (GBR) – 2:14:32
John Levison
Written by
John Levison
TRI247's Chief Correspondent, John has been involved in triathlon for well over 30 years, 15 of those writing on these pages, whilst he can also be found commentating for events across the UK.
Discover more
TRI-FIT Geo Coral women's tri suit
TRI-FIT GEO Women’s Tri Suit Review – How does it fare in our quest for the ultimate long course kit?
TRI-FIT women's sleeveless tri suit
5 race day mistakes that are sabotaging your triathlon times (and how to fix them)
Kate Auld riding on an indoor trainer
Rouvy vs Zwift: our indoor cyclists put them to the test
Professional triathletes on the bike course at Challenge Almere-Amsterdam
Fastest triathlon courses: Best IRONMAN, long course and middle distance races for a sure-fire personal best
Patagonman swim start
6 tips for taking on an Xtreme triathlon from a PATAGONMAN champion
latest News
RaceRanger installation PTO European Open 2023 Ibiza
IRONMAN announce new partnership with draft detector RaceRanger for the 2024 season
Steve McKenna got the win at the 40th edition of IRONMAN New Zealand.
Australian star Steve McKenna shares emotional message after IRONMAN New Zealand win
Chelsea Sodaro takes the tape at the 2024 IRONMAN New Zealand.
Former IRONMAN World Champion delighted after bouncing back to first full distance win since Kona
World Triathlon Cup Miyazaki 2023 Gwen Jorgensen
Olympic gold medalist praises Boulder training environment ahead of WTCS season opener
Chelsea Sodaro PTO Asian Open 2023 run [Photo credit: PTO / Darren Wheeler]
IRONMAN New Zealand results: Steve McKenna and Chelsea Sodaro take the tape in Taupo
Story to tell?
Share interesting & inspirational stories with our news team
The SBRX Group

Proudly elevating endurance sports through content, products & services

Share to...