T100 World Tour

CLASH Daytona 2022 results: Luis victorious in sunshine state

The short course contingent in the men's race turned up the heat in Daytona as two-time ITU World Champion Vincent Luis put the hurt on the rest of the competition to take the win in Florida.

Staff Reporter
Last updated -
T100 Triathlon World Tour
Redefining triathlon

The short course contingent in the men’s race turned up the heat in Daytona as two-time ITU World Champion Vincent Luis put the hurt on the rest of the competition to take the win in Florida.

Swim – Schoeman takes bonus

Immediately, the short course specialists showed their prowess in the water, with Henri Schoeman (RSA), Vincent Luis (FRA), Seth Rider (FRA) and Matthew Sharpe (CAN) gapping the rest of the field early on as Schoeman took the first lap swim bonus.

Over the second lap, the lead group of four continued to put time into the chasers, as the leaders came out with a +0:11 gap to fifth placed Braxton Books (USA) and a further 45 seconds to the main chase pack that included Marc Kubrick (USA), Jonas Schomburg (GER), Kevin McDowell (USA) and Tom Bishop (GBR).

Behind the first ten, which contained a disproportionate amount of short course racers, the likes of long course specialists Jackson Laundry (CAN), Andrew Starykowicz (USA) and Matt Hanson (USA) were between 2:30-3:00 in arrears.


Bike – Starykowicz and Bishop to the fore

After featuring in the breakaway together at WTCS Abu Dhabi last weekend, Rider, Luis and Schoeman must have had a strong sense of deja-vu as they flew around the Daytona Speedway over the opening laps.

Rider, the youngest of the three, set the pace for the majority of the trio’s time at the front, as Sharpe dropped off early, but it was the chasers Bishop and Starykowicz who were making the big moves from behind, as the pair made inroads into the front group lap by lap.

By lap 11, everyone began to sit up and take notice of Bishop, as he made his way to the front of the race after leaving the rest of the chase pack in his wake. After a lap to catch his breath, the Derby born athlete put his foot down to gap the trio of Schoeman, Luis and Rider, eventually entering T2 with over a minute advantage.

The oldest man in the field in Daytona was the American Starykowicz, but he was also one of the fastest on the bike, as he closed a 2:30 minute gap to come off the bike in 2nd behind Bishop. Out of T2, however, Starykowicz, quickly lost that lead, as Luis, Rider and Schoeman shot out in pursuit of Bishop.

It was Schomburg of Germany who took the T2 bonus of $1,000, with Nicolas Gilbert taking home $1,000 for the fastest first bike lap to make up for a puncture he suffered later on in the bike leg.


Run – Luis too strong for the rest of the field

Whilst Bishop seemed strong over the first half of the run course, it seemed inevitable that he would eventually be caught by a runner off the calibre of Vincent Luis. The Frenchman is capable of running with the best, as he proved to be true when he took the win at WTCS Bermuda less than a month ago.

Behind this duo, it was Jason West and Joao Pereira (POR) who worked incredibly together to quickly make up time on the leading duo. As the pair passed Schoeman, Rider and Bishop, who relinquished his lead to Luis with a lap to go, it seemed likely that these two would be locked togethor for the final lap.

At the bell, Pereria kicked onwards, leaving West and setting his sights on Luis and the win. Whilst it looked for a little while that Pereria might catch Luis, the Portuguese ran out of steam over the final few kilometres as the two-time ITU World Champion showed his class to stay strong and take the tape.

In the battle for second, Pereria took the honours ahead of West, with Bishop, who raced so bravely, rewarded with an amazing fourth place finish to cap off his debut season on the middle distance scene.

Vicent Luis wins CLASH Daytona photo credit CLASH Endurance
[Photo credit: CLASH Endurance]

After the race, Luis said: “I’m really grateful to be here and really happy to be with everyone on the podium here.” He added that the 2022 season has seen him “go to really dark places” but “holding the tape again is a feeling you can’t buy”.

CLASH Daytona 2022 results

Friday 2 December 2022 – 1.6km / 60km / 13.2km


  1. Vincent Luis (FRA) – 2:23:48
  2. Joao Pereira (POR) – 2:24:12
  3. Jason West (USA) – 2:24:58
  4. Tom Bishop (GBR) – 2:25:30
  5. Matt Hanson (USA) – 2:27:04
  6. Matt Sharpe (CAN) – 2:27:57
  7. Jonas Schomburg (GER) – 2:28:00
  8. Jackson Laundry (CAN) – 2:28:43
  9. Seth Rider (USA) – 2:29:36
  10. Tomas Rodriguez (MEX) – 2:30:49
Tomos Land
Written by
Tomos Land
Tomos Land is a triathlon & running journalist whose expertise lies in the professional world of short course & long distance triathlon, though he also boasts an extensive knowledge of ultra-running.
Discover more
TRI-FIT Geo Coral women's tri suit
TRI-FIT GEO Women’s Tri Suit Review – How does it fare in our quest for the ultimate long course kit?
TRI-FIT women's sleeveless tri suit
5 race day mistakes that are sabotaging your triathlon times (and how to fix them)
Kate Auld riding on an indoor trainer
Rouvy vs Zwift: our indoor cyclists put them to the test
Professional triathletes on the bike course at Challenge Almere-Amsterdam
Fastest triathlon courses: Best IRONMAN, long course and middle distance races for a sure-fire personal best
Patagonman swim start
6 tips for taking on an Xtreme triathlon from a PATAGONMAN champion
latest News
RaceRanger installation PTO European Open 2023 Ibiza
IRONMAN announce new partnership with draft detector RaceRanger for the 2024 season
Steve McKenna got the win at the 40th edition of IRONMAN New Zealand.
Australian star Steve McKenna shares emotional message after IRONMAN New Zealand win
Chelsea Sodaro takes the tape at the 2024 IRONMAN New Zealand.
Former IRONMAN World Champion delighted after bouncing back to first full distance win since Kona
World Triathlon Cup Miyazaki 2023 Gwen Jorgensen
Olympic gold medalist praises Boulder training environment ahead of WTCS season opener
Chelsea Sodaro PTO Asian Open 2023 run [Photo credit: PTO / Darren Wheeler]
IRONMAN New Zealand results: Steve McKenna and Chelsea Sodaro take the tape in Taupo
Story to tell?
Share interesting & inspirational stories with our news team
The SBRX Group

Proudly elevating endurance sports through content, products & services

Share to...