Personal best for Matt Sharp at Berlin Marathon

He's been a World Champion and World Cup winner in triathlon, but these days Matt Sharp is a speedy marathon runner. Check out his Berlin Marathon result.

Chief Correspondent
Last updated -

Former World Under-23 Champion runs 2:16 in Berlin

For many years a member of the British Triathlon World Class Performance Programme, Matt Sharp was also the World Under-23 Triathlon Champion in Beijing in 2011, leading home a British podium sweep ahead of David McNamee and Tom Bishop.

As recently at November 2015, he was also an ITU World Cup winner in Tongyeong, Korea and he has a World Triathlon Series best finish of fifth, at Auckland in 2015.

Now a “triathlete turned road racer” per his his Twitter feed description, Matt raced the Berlin Marathon on Sunday, his second marathon following his debut in London earlier this year, where he clocked 2:17:45:

Matt Sharp - London Marathon 2017

Berlin would see a further improvement on that, his finishing time of 2:16:02 giving him 20th position overall, the second British athlete home behind Jonathan Mellor in 10th (2:12:57).

While comparisons across different courses is always a somewhat dubious analysis, in Berlin Matt’s first half / second half splits were 1:06:40 / 1:09:22, meaning that he went out at almost exactly the same speed at London – but home to a time a full 1:43 faster.

Matt Sharp's Berlin Marathon 2017 split times
Matt Sharp’s Berlin Marathon 2017 split times
John Levison
Written by
John Levison
TRI247's Chief Correspondent, John has been involved in triathlon for well over 30 years, 15 of those writing on these pages, whilst he can also be found commentating for events across the UK.


In episode 1 of our new SBRX Show we sit down with ultra runners and coaches Kim and Jayson Cavill to get their take on the Barkley Marathons and triathlon & trail running gear reviews, training tips and more
Discover more
Anne Haug wins IRONMAN Lanzarote 2024
Anne Haug bounces back with SENSATIONAL season opener at IRONMAN Lanzarote
Jenny Lucas-Hill wearing the Sumarpo vanguard triathlon wetsuit
Sumarpo Vanguard triathlon and swimming wetsuit review – Can it challenge the mainstream tri wetsuit brands?
sea swimming sumarpo triathlon wetsuit
How to get faster at open water swimming – triathlon swim training tips to up your race pace
Challenge St. Pölten 2023 - Photo Credit José Luis Hourcade
Best middle distance triathlon bike courses – from the fastest courses to the most epic scenery
Challenge St. Pölten 2023 - Photo Credit José Luis Hourcade
Five reasons to race Challenge St. Pölten – kickstart your race season with this scenic middle distance triathlon
latest News
Georgia Taylor-Brown wins WTCS Cagliari 2023
WTCS Cagliari a golden vision as triathlon’s medal superstars plot route to more Olympic Games glory
PRO triathlete and Challenge St Polten champion Tom Hug on the bike course
Challenge St Pölten: Start time, preview and how to watch live
Lauren Steadman speaking microphone
The Lauren Steadman Story: From ‘Strictly’ to ‘Who Dares Wins’, an incredible triathlete AND TV superstar
Georgia Taylor-Brown WTCS Yokohama 2023 finish
WTCS Cagliari: Full women’s start list as Georgia Taylor-Brown chases third successive victory
Alex Yee swim WTCS Cagliari 2022
WTCS Cagliari: Full men’s start list as Alex Yee and Hayden Wilde go head-to-head
triathlon on your terms
Never miss out with our triathlon alerts & digest. Get a dose of adventure & inspiration with Boundless.
Invalid email address
The SBRX Group

Proudly elevating endurance sports through content, products & services

Share to...