PTO 2020 Championship: Pro Men Start List

Chief Correspondent

PTO Championship Start Lists for Challenge Daytona Confirmed


We’ve been waiting, and here they are – the confirmed athletes for the inaugural PTO Championship, set for the Daytona International Speedway on Sunday 6th December 2020.

More analysis, previews and prospects for the Male Pro race to follow over the coming days in the lead up to the race, as well as the full listing (below), here’s a quick look at the British male athletes who will (and won’t) be racing. I’d previously (HERE), looked at the potential line-up of qualified British athletes, via the various routes, who ‘could’ be racing.

I said at the time, I fully expected that some of those athletes would not be race for various reasons, and against that initial listing of nine, we now know that two – Joe Skipper and David McNamee will NOT be racing in Florida.

MEN (Was 9, now 7)

  • Alistair Brownlee – (auto-rankings)
  • Joe Skipper – (auto-rankings)
  • David McNamee – (auto-rankings)
  • George Goodwin – (auto-rankings)
  • Adam Bowden – (rolldown-rankings)
  • Tim Don – (PTO wildcard)
  • Jonathan Brownlee – (PTO wildcard)
  • Kieran Lindars – (Challenge Private Invitation)
  • Thomas Davis – (Challenge Private Invitation)



NameCountrySlot Allocation
Alistair BrownleeGBRAutomatic Qualifier
Sebastian KienleGERAutomatic Qualifier
Lionel SandersCANAutomatic Qualifier
Ben HoffmanUSAAutomatic Qualifier
Rudy von BergUSAAutomatic Qualifier
Cameron WurfAUSAutomatic Qualifier
Javier GomezESPAutomatic Qualifier
Timothy O'DonnellUSAAutomatic Qualifier
Pieter HeemeryckBELAutomatic Qualifier
Andreas DreitzGERAutomatic Qualifier
Michael WeissAUTAutomatic Qualifier
Bart AernoutsBELAutomatic Qualifier
Matt HansonUSAAutomatic Qualifier
Sam AppletonAUSAutomatic Qualifier
Cody BealsCANAutomatic Qualifier
Maurice ClavelGERAutomatic Qualifier
Florian AngertGERAutomatic Qualifier
Daniel BaekkegardDENAutomatic Qualifier
Andrew StarykowiczUSAAutomatic Qualifier
Philipp KoutnySUIAutomatic Qualifier
Matthew RussellUSAAutomatic Qualifier
Igor AmorelliBRAAutomatic Qualifier
Andi BoechererGERAutomatic Qualifier
Ben KanuteUSAAutomatic Qualifier
Frederic FunkGERAutomatic Qualifier
Andy PottsUSAAutomatic Qualifier
Bradley WeissZAFAutomatic Qualifier
Eneko LlanosESPAutomatic Qualifier
George GoodwinGBRAutomatic Qualifier
Kristian HogenhaugDENAutomatic Qualifier
Adam BowdenGBRAutomatic Qualifier
Jackson LaundryCANAutomatic Qualifier
Ruedi WildSUIAutomatic Qualifier
Nils FrommholdGERAutomatic Qualifier
David PleseSLOAutomatic Qualifier
Thomas StegerAUTAutomatic Qualifier
Joe GamblesAUSAutomatic Qualifier
Sam LongUSAPTO Wildcard
Tim DonGBRPTO Wildcard
Chris LeifermanUSAPTO Wildcard
James CunnamaZAFPTO Wildcard
Magnus Elbaek DitlevDENPTO Wildcard
Gustav IdenNORPTO Wildcard
Henri SchoemanRSAPTO Wildcard
Jonny BrownleeGBRPTO Wildcard
Vincent LuisFRAPTO Wildcard
Thomas DavisGBRSpecial CHALLENGE invite
Eric LagerstromUSASpecial CHALLENGE invite
Taylor ReidCANSpecial CHALLENGE invite
Jesper SvenssonSWESpecial CHALLENGE invite
Justin MetzlerUSASpecial CHALLENGE invite
Jason WestUSASpecial CHALLENGE invite
Kieran LindarsGBRSpecial CHALLENGE invite
Andrea SalvisbergSUISpecial CHALLENGE invite
Boris SteinGERRace Qualifier
Andre LopesUSARace Qualifier
Morgan PearsonUSAHost nation Invite
Matt McElroyUSAHost nation Invite

For more news on the Professional Triathletes Organisation, Rankings, Collins Cup and more, check out our dedicated section on the site HERE.

Professional Triathletes Organisation
John Levison
Written by
John Levison
Latest News
Jonny Brownlee Neom 2022 photo credit Darren Wheeler That Cameraman SLT
Brilliant Brownlee back on the podium in Madrid as Olympic hopes get a boost
Jan Frodeno of Germany performs during the run leg at sunrise at the IRONMAN European Championship Hamburg on June 4, 2023 in Hamburg, Germany. (Photo by Alexander Koerner/Getty Images for Ironman)
Jan Frodeno reacts to IRONMAN Hamburg tragedy after horror accident kills motorcyclist
Jonathan Brownlee / Jonny Brownlee - World Triathlon Cup Arzachena 2022
Europe Triathlon Championships Madrid 2023: Brownlee just misses out in sprint with Castro Fajardo
Jeanne Lehair Malibu 2022 photo credit Darren Wheeler That Cameraman SLT
Europe Triathlon Championships Madrid 2023: Jeanne Lehair wins big
IRONMAN Hamburg 2023 results: Chevrot defends title, Frodeno fourth