St George start list: British & Irish Age-Group Men racing at IM WC

Chief Correspondent

It’s not just the Pro athletes who have been waiting more than two-and-a-half years for an IRONMAN World Championship event. For many long distance amateur athletes, the World Champs in Kona is the dream.

Of course, with the delayed 2021 IRONMAN World Championship taking place in St George, Utah on Saturday (May 7), there’s no Ali’i Drive or Queen K this time around, but the topography of Snow Canyon and its surrounds is still impressive.

As we have done for many years now, here are the full listings of all of the UK and Ireland Age-Group MEN set to race in St George.

(You can find the Age-Group Women on this link)


A few names to note

John Thelwell will be racing in the always strong M35-39 division. He has made great strides over the past couple of seasons in the colours of Tri Central UK, which has included a rapid 8:34:33 finish at IRONMAN Tallinn in 2020, and winning the AG race at IRONMAN UK in 2021.

John Thelwell

Martin Gannon (M65-69) has plenty of World Championship experience – and podiums – to his name. He was fourth in Kona in 2018 and repeated that 12 months later. Having now moved up in category, can he do even better this time around?

Martin Gannon / IRONMAN World Championship 2019 / GB Kona 2019
Martin Gannon at at Kona in 2019

Ireland’s Declan Doyle (M45-49) could well be one of the most experienced World Championship athletes on this list. He has been racing IRONMAN World Championship events for at least 15 years!

Best wishes for Saturday from the whole team at TRI247!

*** NOTE *** The athlete information below was extracted from the official race start lists, based on data as at April 5, 2022. Therefore, if there are any errors then that is probably the source!

However, we would like to ensure we have the correct information, so if you do spot any mistakes then please do get in touch with us via and we will amend.


UK and Ireland Age-Group Men St George

2266Arran Mccloskey25-29GBR
2289Thomas Davies25-29GBR
2304Jack Davis25-29GBR
2315Andrew Horsfall-Turner25-29GBR
2334Bradley Foster25-29GBR
2258Jonathan Nally25-29IRL
2290Niall Mccarthy25-29IRL
1056Lewis Ball30-34GBR
1104Tom Garrett30-34GBR
1161Richard Sheldon30-34GBR
1177Daniel Anderton30-34GBR
1185Charlie Gaimster30-34GBR
1203James Hall30-34GBR
1214Ben Payne30-34GBR
1285Aaron Madden30-34IRL
738Hubert Eisdell35-39GBR
756James Watt35-39GBR
762Mark Williams35-39GBR
850John Thelwell35-39GBR
871Duncan Chedburn35-39GBR
945Andrew Williams35-39GBR
947James O’Sullivan35-39GBR
968Tom Sherratt35-39GBR
973Tom Van Rossum35-39GBR
988Chris Cox35-39GBR
1016Richard Mckee35-39GBR
935James Curran35-39IRL
957Paul Doheny35-39IRL
1006James Knipe35-39IRL
120David Jones40-44GBR
128Ben Walton40-44GBR
154Lee Williams40-44GBR
198Robert Walker40-44GBR
211Matt Dine40-44GBR
217James English40-44GBR
224Thomas Hughes40-44GBR
260Daniel Mcparland40-44GBR
277Thomas Morley40-44GBR
288Phil Murphy40-44GBR
310Mark Farquhar40-44GBR
345Colin Sadler40-44GBR
354Ryan Sherlock40-44GBR
405Gary Cummings40-44GBR
407James Garland40-44GBR
493Tim Davies40-44GBR
505Anthony Heaton-Jones40-44GBR
565Darren Hull40-44GBR
571Tom Smith40-44GBR
191Ian Farrell40-44IRL
206Thomas Collins40-44IRL
106Mark Millar40-44IRL
389Derek Sheridan40-44IRL
487Jp Mcaree40-44IRL
2408Matthew Evans45-49GBR
2472Chris Ellett45-49GBR
2474Tim Williams45-49GBR
2496Patrick Harfield45-49GBR
2498Alexander Coyne45-49GBR
2507Phil Lester45-49GBR
2536Steven Phillips45-49GBR
2558Paul Bradford45-49GBR
2580Kenneth Heney45-49GBR
2669Jon Townsend45-49GBR
2710Dan Williamson45-49GBR
2742Colin Stone45-49GBR
2821Andy Giles45-49GBR
2870Tom Griffin45-49GBR
2874Graham Stephenson45-49GBR
2753Rich Brady45-49IRL
2794Owen Martin45-49IRL
2798Glyn Tallon45-49IRL
2833Declan Doyle45-49IRL
1747Tim Young50-54GBR
1749Rob Whittaker50-54GBR
1815Grant Marshall50-54GBR
1832Stewart Conway50-54GBR
1876Gordon Jarratt50-54GBR
1877Paul Waterhouse50-54GBR
1882Chris Wild50-54GBR
1893Robert Chatterton50-54GBR
1925John Mead50-54GBR
1931Simon Saunders50-54GBR
1941Rob Haycox50-54GBR
1946Chris Burr50-54GBR
1980Simon Oldacre50-54GBR
2034Scott Whittlestone50-54GBR
2092James Charlton50-54GBR
2098Brian Gilmour50-54GBR
2100David Mantle50-54GBR
2139Mark Schofield50-54GBR
2156Richard Kane50-54GBR
2157Paul Totterdill50-54GBR
2178Conrad Ashby50-54GBR
2213Richard Hudson50-54GBR
1798Ciaran Byrne50-54IRL
1955Mark Mccabe50-54IRL
1479Salim Mohamed55-59GBR
1538Steven Lyons55-59GBR
1564Mark Wharton55-59GBR
1601Nicholas Welch55-59GBR
1644Innes Wright55-59GBR
1656Hugh Gibbs55-59GBR
1669Mark Edwards55-59GBR
1725David Nicholson55-59GBR
1509Colin Teevan55-59IRL
1327David Virden60-64GBR
1353Quin Beech60-64GBR
1453Stephen Redwood60-64GBR
601Martin Gannon65-69GBR
649Nick Hewitt65-69GBR
672Charlie Crawford70-74GBR
John Levison
Written by
John Levison
TRI247's Chief Correspondent, John has been involved in triathlon for well over 30 years, 15 of those writing on these pages, whilst he can also be found commentating for events across the UK.
Latest News
Challenge Barcelona 2023 - Photo Credit: Jose Luis Hourcade
IRONMAN 70.3 Bahrain: Start time, preview and how to follow live
Tamara Jewett Solveig Lovseth Jackie Hering Indian Wells 2023 photo credit IRONMAN
Tamara Jewett reveals ‘biggest, quiet success of season’ after another Indian Wells second place
Challenge Family Kaiserwinkle-Walchsee triathlon bike
The race to the bottom: David Tilbury-Davis calls for athlete education with regards to sponsorship
Daniel Baekkegard Denmark taking the win at GWM IRONMAN Western Australia 2023
Bækkegård delight after smashing Brownlee’s record at IRONMAN Western Australia
Solveig Lovseth wins 703 Indian Wells 2023 Photo credit IRONMAN
IRONMAN 70.3 Indian Wells 2023: Red letter day for Norway as they dominate at La Quinta