T100 World Tour

Dusseldorf: GB Age-Group Team medals – ETU Champs (Sprint)

Scores on the doors for the Great Britain Age-Group team at the 2017 Dusseldorf ETU Sprint Triathlon European Championships in Germany. Who won what?

Chief Correspondent
Last updated -
T100 Triathlon World Tour
Redefining triathlon

European Sprint Distance Age-Group Championships 2017

“I thought that was last week?”. Well, if you are having difficulty keeping up with the last month of seemingly never-ending European Championship events, don’t worry, we’re only just about managing ourselves – and this is what we ‘do’. More on this coming soon…

Anyway, for 2017 the ETU Age-Group Championships for Standard and Sprint Distance have been separated, so last week it was Kitzbuhel (Standard) and this week the Sprint distance athletes got to race in Dusseldorf, Germany. Of course, some did both – and some made the podium in both too…

Overall, as always another monster haul – this time of 30 in total (including 12 Golds), though remarkably that is still significantly less than the 41 Sprint distance medals collected last year in Lisbon. Nonetheless, it was still four medals more than the host nation, Germany. Never a bad thing!

James Wilson (Gold, 35-39) was the fastest British male overall, beaten only by one other AG athlete. He was just seven seconds ahead of Craig Dale (Gold, 30-34). Yet another Gold for the current British Triathlon Age-Group Athlete of the Year, Michael Smallwood (70-74). Some revenge too, as last week he took Silver over the Standard distance, but today returned the favour and finally beat his Austrian rival, Klaus Kubler. He now has TWENTY TWO ITU/ETU podium finishes on his C.V. Amazing consistency from a remarkable athlete.

The fastest British female overall was Michelle Willcocks (Gold, 30-34), who like James was the second fastest AG athlete across all categories. Our ERDINGER Athlete of the Month for April, Jacqui Phillips, continued her great year with a second European title in the 50-54 category. It was hard-earned too, battling all day with fellow Brit, Maria Powell, before finally pulling away on the run. Maria took the Silver to add to her collection.

Dusseldorf ETU Sprint Triathlon European Championships – Sunday 25th June 2017
750m / 20km / 5km




GOLD (12)

Samuel Mileham 16-19 Male AG
Michelle Willcocks 30-34 Female AG
Craig Dale 30-34 Male AG
James Wilson 35-39 Male AG
Trish Deykin 40-44 Female AG
Jacqui Phillips 50-54 Female AG
Joyce Mark 55-59 Female AG
Bob Pearce 55-59 Male AG
Anne Hughes 60-64 Female AG
Wendy Read 65-69 Female AG
Georgina Jennings 70-74 Female AG
Michael Smallwood 70-74 Male AG


Rosie Weston 16-19 Female AG
Jonathan Oakey 16-19 Male AG
Brittany Tate 20-24 Female AG
Benjamin Terry 30-34 Male AG
Erica Booth 35-39 Female AG
Elizabeth Bullivant 40-44 Female AG
Emma Fisher 45-49 Female AG
Maria Powell 50-54 Female AG
Mary Derrick 60-64 Female AG


Kiera Tippett 16-19 Female AG
Scott Wardman 30-34 Male AG
Amy Pritchard 35-39 Female AG
Paul Ryman 35-39 Male AG
Gwen Kinsey 40-44 Female AG
Timothy Watson 40-44 Male AG
Jane Bell 55-59 Female AG
Pam Oliver 65-69 Female AG
Maggie Mann 70-74 Female AG

John Levison
Written by
John Levison
TRI247's Chief Correspondent, John has been involved in triathlon for well over 30 years, 15 of those writing on these pages, whilst he can also be found commentating for events across the UK.
Discover more
TRI-FIT Geo Coral women's tri suit
TRI-FIT GEO Women’s Tri Suit Review – How does it fare in our quest for the ultimate long course kit?
TRI-FIT women's sleeveless tri suit
5 race day mistakes that are sabotaging your triathlon times (and how to fix them)
Kate Auld riding on an indoor trainer
Rouvy vs Zwift: our indoor cyclists put them to the test
Professional triathletes on the bike course at Challenge Almere-Amsterdam
Fastest triathlon courses: Best IRONMAN, long course and middle distance races for a sure-fire personal best
Patagonman swim start
6 tips for taking on an Xtreme triathlon from a PATAGONMAN champion
latest News
RaceRanger installation PTO European Open 2023 Ibiza
IRONMAN announce new partnership with draft detector RaceRanger for the 2024 season
Steve McKenna got the win at the 40th edition of IRONMAN New Zealand.
Australian star Steve McKenna shares emotional message after IRONMAN New Zealand win
Chelsea Sodaro takes the tape at the 2024 IRONMAN New Zealand.
Former IRONMAN World Champion delighted after bouncing back to first full distance win since Kona
World Triathlon Cup Miyazaki 2023 Gwen Jorgensen
Olympic gold medalist praises Boulder training environment ahead of WTCS season opener
Chelsea Sodaro PTO Asian Open 2023 run [Photo credit: PTO / Darren Wheeler]
IRONMAN New Zealand results: Steve McKenna and Chelsea Sodaro take the tape in Taupo
Story to tell?
Share interesting & inspirational stories with our news team
The SBRX Group

Proudly elevating endurance sports through content, products & services

Share to...