Ibiza 2018: GB Age-Group medals, Euro Standard Duathlon Championships

Chief Correspondent

Ibiza ETU Multisport European Championships Festival Day Two


Age-Group Standard Duathlon European Championship Podiums

The second day of competition at the ETU Multisport European Championships Festival on Sunday saw the Age-Group athletes return to Duathlon action, this time over the Standard distance, having kicked-off the championship in Sprint format on Sunday.

The women’s race proved to be an absolute classic with two British athletes, Rachel Wiseman (35-39) and Marie Faithfull (25-29), dominating the field and having a head-to-head battle for close on two hours. More than a minute and a half clear at T1 having run the opening 10km together, the 40km bike leg could not split them and the closing 5km couldn’t either… to the point that they had a shoulder-to-shoulder sprint finish to the tape, with just a second splitting them at the finish line. Check out the video below – great racing!

All of the reports and news from Ibiza:

Ibiza ETU Standard Distance Duathlon European Championships – Sunday 21st October 2018
10km / 40km / 5km



1st – Richard Shephard (GBR) – 1:44:06 – Fourth fastest overall
2nd – Nathaniel Walker (GBR) – 1:44:25 – Fifth fastest overall
3rd – Craig Taylor (GBR) – 1:46:03 -Seventh fastest overall


1st – Rachel Wiseman (GBR) – 1:53:21 – Fastest overall
2nd – Marie Faithfull (GBR) – 1:53:22 – Second fastest overall
3rd – Leah Walland (GBR) – 1:59:23 – Fifth fastest overall



Gold (10)

Emily Burton 18-19 Female AG
Marie Faithfull 25-29 Female AG
Rachel Wiseman 35-39 Female AG
Sharon Walker 45-49 Female AG
Nicola Miller 50-54 Female AG
Ian Reid 50-54 Male AG
Alison Crellin 55-59 Female AG
Jane Holmes 65-69 Female AG
Keith Walker 70-74 Male AG
George Prodrick 75-79 Male AG

Silver (14)

Megan Wilson 20-24 Female AG
Jordan Lockett 20-24 Male AG
Jess Williams 25-29 Female AG
Gemma Brierley-Rutter 30-34 Female AG
Jonathan Peters 30-34 Male AG
Leah Walland 35-39 Female AG
Richard Shephard 35-39 Male AG
Louella O’Herlihy 45-49 Female AG
Paul Robson 45-49 Male AG
Christine Meek 60-64 Female AG
Nigel Arnold 60-64 Male AG
Elspeth Knott 65-69 Female AG
Steven Rue 65-69 Male AG
Vernon Thomas 70-74 Male AG

Bronze (15)

Riley Richardson 20-24 Male AG
Rebecca Pidgeon 25-29 Female AG
Dean Clarke 25-29 Male AG
Joanna Plimmer 30-34 Female AG
Lindsay Russell-Smith 35-39 Female AG
Nathaniel Walker 35-39 Male AG
Katherine O’Hara 45-49 Female AG
Chris Nicoll 45-49 Male AG
Jayne Baldwin 50-54 Female AG
Dave Smith 50-54 Male AG
Ian Cardy 55-59 Male AG
Irene Peaty 60-64 Female AG
Rob Pearson 60-64 Male AG
Ashley Robinson 65-69 Male AG
James Fell 70-74 Male AG

John Levison
Written by
John Levison
Latest News
Justus Nieschlag - IRONMAN 70.3 Lanzarote 2023 winner
‘Like a Ferrari and a match for anyone’ – Justus Nieschlag revving up for return
Will McCloy Super League Triathlon
Will McCloy on triathlon passion, future stars and the challenges of commentary
Sam Long Lionel Sanders IRONMAN 703 Gulf Coast 2023 finish line [Photo credit: Julio Aguilar / Getty Images for IRONMAN]
Lionel Sanders says “a lactate monitor doesn’t win a race” as he goes back to basics
Collin Chartier - PTO US Open 2022
Collin Chartier says he is ‘sleeping on the streets’ and has a message for ‘the haters’
PTO European Open 2023 Ibiza - Max Neumann
Max Neumann opts out of Brownlee and Frodeno showdown