Ibiza 2018: GB Age-Group medals, Euro Aquabike Championships

Chief Correspondent

GB Age-Group Aquabike European Championship roundup

With over 70% of the starters for Saturday’s ETU Aquabike European Championships, held on the final day of competition ETU Multisport European Championships in Ibiza, no surprise at all to see another significant medal haul from the British Age-Group team.

The squad collected 40 of the 59 medals awarded, including Gold in 14 of the 22 categories. In many instances, athletes had already raced once (or more) during the week, across the various Duathlon (Sprint, Standard, Cross) formats or in the Cross Triathlon of Aquathlon events. Several athletes secured podiums across multiple disciplines too – something I’ll look at in more depth in a separate article.

As with the Middle Distance Triathlon – which it was held alongside – the Aquabike was impacted by the heavy rain and storms, meaning that the bike leg was cut to one lap instead of two. It wasn’t just the swim that was wet.

This event represented the first European Championships of the Aquabike format which was added to the (Age-Group) World Championships in 2017 in Penticton, and held once again this year in Fyn, Denmark.

Amy Pritchard (40-44) – who won our ERDINGER Athlete of the Month award last year – has now won Gold in all three of those events, while Maria Powell (50-54) adds Silver to her two previous World Championship Gold medals in this format.


All of the reports and news from Ibiza:

Ibiza ETU Aquabike European Championships, Saturday 27th October 2018
1.9km swim / 46km bike



1st – Paul Edmonds (35-39) – 1:45:21 – 4th Fastest Overall
2nd – Callum McPartlin (25-29) – 1:45:27 – 5th Fastest Overall
3rd – Stuart Mackay (30-34) – 1:48:25


1st – Brittany Tate (25-29) – 1:47:42 – Fastest Overall
2nd – Amy Pritchard (40-44) – 1:48:58 – 2nd Fastest Overall
3rd – Melissa Dowell (50-54) – 1:50:08 – 3rd Fastest Overall

GB Age-Group Medals (40)

GOLD (14)

Emily Burton – 18-19 Female AG
Alex Clay – 20-24 Female AG
Brittany Tate – 25-29 Female AG
Jennie Stemp – 30-34 Female AG
Paul Edmonds – 35-39 Male AG
Amy Pritchard – 40-44 Female AG
Sarah Kelman – 45-49 Female AG
Melissa Dowell – 50-54 Female AG
Trevor Back – 50-54 Male AG
Jeannie Fry – 55-59 Female AG
Julia Hodkinson – 60-64 Female AG
Liz Ball – 65-69 Female AG
Grant Young – 65-69 Male AG
Michael Smallwood – 70-74 Male AG


Callum McPartlin – 25-29 Male AG
Raya Hubbell – 30-34 Female AG
Stuart Mackay – 30-34 Male AG
Lucy Richardson – 35-39 Female AG
Jen Lande – 40-44 Female AG
Neil Dighton – 40-44 Male AG
Jennifer Astall – 45-49 Female AG
Maria Powell – 50-54 Female AG
Adrian Wilkins – 50-54 Male AG
Miriam Rennet – 55-59 Female AG
Joanna Lewis – 60-64 Female AG
Anthony Hall – 60-64 Male AG
Ted Hamilton – 65-69 Male AG



Ben Kent – 20-24 Male AG
Jamie Platts – 25-29 Male AG
Laura Brown – 30-34 Female AG
Lydia Adelin – 35-39 Female AG
David Reeves – 35-39 Male AG
Kate Sandford – 40-44 Female AG
Dan Clapton – 40-44 Male AG
Nicola Stevenson – 45-49 Female AG
Sean Collins – 45-49 Male AG
Bee Furber – 50-54 Female AG
Andy Hayes – 50-54 Male AG
Cathy Booth – 60-64 Female AG
Colin Watkins – 65-69 Male AG

John Levison
Written by
John Levison
TRI247's Chief Correspondent, John has been involved in triathlon for well over 30 years, 15 of those writing on these pages, whilst he can also be found commentating for events across the UK.
Latest News
Joe Skipper IRONMAN Lake Placid Results 2023
Joe Skipper steps back up to the plate with Stateside schedule to end 2023 season
Emma Pallant-Browne crosses the line at Challenge Samarkand photo credit Challenge Family
Emma Pallant-Browne now puts health first after tough day out at Challenge Samarkand
Tamara Jewett IRONMAN 703 Michigan 2023 photo credit: IRONMAN
IRONMAN 70.3 Augusta: Preview, start time and how to watch live as Sanders vs Laundry rematch
Emma Lombardi Cassandre Beaugrand WTCS Sunderland 2023 photo credit World Triathlon / Tommy Zaferes
WTCS Pontevedra scenarios: Who needs what to qualify for the Paris 2024 Olympic Games triathlon?
WTCS Cagliari 2023 podium - Alex Yee, Hayden Wilde, Leo Bergere
WTCS Pontevedra start list for Elite Men as Yee chases first world title