Club La Santa

Blummenfelt and seven of the world’s top ten set for PTO European Open

The men’s line up for the inaugural PTO European Open men’s race in Ibiza will bring together seven of the top ten ranked athletes in the world on 6 May, including number 1 ranked Kristian Blummenfelt (NOR), #3 Magnus Ditlev (DEN) and #4 Sam Laidlow (FRA)

The only top ranked athletes missing are those that have opted to instead race IRONMAN 70.3 North American Championship St. George and, of course, #2 Gustav Iden (NOR), who is chasing his Paris 2024 Olympic dreams. 

When the four wildcards are added tomorrow (Thursday 13 April), the PTO European Open will have the most exciting race line up of the year to date.


The favourites

Blummenfelt, the Olympic Champion, has an incredible range, able to win at any distance. The 100km race format, covering 2km swim, 80km bike and an 18km run is likely to suit the big Norwegian in this early season clash. 

Kristian Blummenfelt wins IRONMAN 70.3 World Championship St George 2022
Photo: Donald Miralle / IRONMAN

The race offers crucial world ranking points and a $600,000 prize purse. It’s also co-hosted alongside the 2023 World Triathlon Multisport Championships, so the athletes can expect some big, knowledgeable crowds of fans in Ibiza Town.

There’s likely to be a lot of interest in Laidlow after his Kona heroics, but he’s arguably less proven over the shorter distances than some of the others on the start list. He’s also stated that he’s aiming for IRONMAN Lanzarote and Roth as his key races for the first half of the year.

Ditlev leads the powerful Danish charge, which also includes Daniel Baekkegard, Miki Moerck Taagholt and Kristian Hogenhaug.

The Australian duo of #7 ranked Max Neumann and #11 Aaron Royle should also feature highly. New Zealand’s Kyle Smith got a start following his third place finish at the Arena Games Finals at the London Aquatics Centre.

From a British perspective, Tom Bishop has made the most of his points scoring efforts in Miami (second place) and a win in Puerto Varas to get into the top 30 and get a start in Ibiza. He’s joined by David McNamee, who was fifth in Miami and remains Britain’s only ever male Kona podium finisher.

Tom Bishop takes second place in 2023 photo credit CLASH Endurance Miami
[Photo credit : CLASH Endurance Miami]

Who’s not there

PTO 5th ranked athlete, Lionel Sanders and #6 Sam Long will be in St. George rather than Ibiza and #14 Collin Chartier won’t be in Ibiza either. However, other USA athletes including Ben Kanute, Rudy Von Berg and Jason West will be part of the PTO line up.

There’s no Joe Skipper (GBR), either. Currently ranked #15 he could have been been there if he had wanted to. He will start his season at IRONMAN Texas on 22 April.

At the moment, there’s no Alistair Brownlee (GBR) or Jan Frodeno (GER), but their names could be added along with another two male wildcard selections tomorrow. 

The inaugural European Open opens the PTO season. It’s the first of three PTO Tour events in 2023 and the stacked men’s field has been announced following the confirmation of the women’s line up yesterday. 

PTO European Open Men's Line Up
PTO European Open Men’s Line Up
Helen Gorman
Written by
Helen Gorman
Helen is part of the editorial team at TRI247 after spending ten years as a Press Officer with British Triathlon. She's mostly found at a pool, sometimes breaking world masters records.
Latest News
Hugo Milner World Triathlon Cup Miyazaki 2023
Hugo Milner so close to a medal at European Cross Country Championships
Javier Gomez IRONMAN 70.3 Mossel Bay 2023 bike
Javier Gomez ends season with penalty and puncture at turbulent IRONMAN 70.3 Taupō
Hannah Berry of New Zealand wins IRONMAN 70.3 Taupo 2023
“Nothing beats racing at home” – Kiwis Kyle Smith and Hannah Berry overjoyed with Taupō triumph
Beth Potter WTCS Grand Finals Pontevedra 2023
Beth Potter Pontevedra win earns Sporting Moment of the Year at Scottish Sports Awards
Kyle Smith won his hometown race at the 2023 IRONMAN Taupo Photo Graeme Murray
IRONMAN 70.3 Taupo Results: Kyle Smith and Hannah Berry win on home turf