Magnificent Marino – 16 wins and still counting…

He may be 41 years of age - but Belgium's Marino Vanhoenacker has just won his SIXTEENTH Professional IRONMAN title in Mont-Tremblant

Chief Correspondent
Last updated -

Triathlon’s most consistent IRONMAN athlete?

The triathlon year for Belgium’s Marino Vanhoenacker started with a DNF at IRONMAN New Zealand, and then a planned start at IRONMAN Lanzarote ended before it started following a bike crash and broken bones.

However, Marino is a man who is driven to win and at IRONMAN Mont-Tremblant he added is 16th career IRONMAN title to his C.V. He has now won at least one IRONMAN in 12 of the last 13 seasons.

In typical style, Marino crushed everyone on the bike via a 4:26:56 bike split – to which he added the only Sub-3 marathon of the day too.

IRONMAN Mont-Tremblant – Sunday 20th August 2017
3.8km / 180km / 42.2km

1st – Marino Vanhoenacker (BEL) – 8:21:29
2nd – Chris McDonald (AUS) – 8:41:47
3rd – Jordan Monnick (CAN) – 8:51:29


Marino Vanhoenacker’s 16 Career Ironman Wins

Ironman Florida
Ironman Austria
Ironman Austria
Ironman Austria
Ironman South Africa, Ironman Austria
Ironman Malaysia, Ironman Austria
Ironman Austria
Ironman Frankfurt (Euro Champs)
Ironman Canada
Ironman Brasil, Ironman Austria
Ironman Austria, Ironman Chattanooga
Ironman Mont-Tremblant
John Levison
Written by
John Levison
TRI247's Chief Correspondent, John has been involved in triathlon for well over 30 years, 15 of those writing on these pages, whilst he can also be found commentating for events across the UK.


In episode 1 of our new SBRX Show we sit down with ultra runners and coaches Kim and Jayson Cavill to get their take on the Barkley Marathons and triathlon & trail running gear reviews, training tips and more
Discover more
Anne Haug wins IRONMAN Lanzarote 2024
Anne Haug bounces back with SENSATIONAL season opener at IRONMAN Lanzarote
sumarpo triathlon swimming wetsuit
Sumarpo Vanguard triathlon and swimming wetsuit review – Can it challenge the mainstream tri wetsuit brands?
sea swimming sumarpo triathlon wetsuit
How to get faster at open water swimming – triathlon swim training tips to up your race pace
Challenge St. Pölten 2023 - Photo Credit José Luis Hourcade
Best middle distance triathlon bike courses – from the fastest courses to the most epic scenery
Challenge St. Pölten 2023 - Photo Credit José Luis Hourcade
Five reasons to race Challenge St. Pölten – kickstart your race season with this scenic middle distance triathlon
latest News
PTO European Open 2023 Ibiza - Max Neumann
Former PTO Tour winner targeting triathlon comeback at London T100 after injury spell
India Lee (GBR) and Kyle Smith (NZL) celebrate together at the finish line in Samorin.
Victorious India Lee and Kyle Smith react to course record breaking day at The Championship
Challenge Family The Championship 2024 - Men Pro Podium
The Championship results: Full finishing order and times for Kyle Smith, Joe Skipper and more
Challenge Family The Championship 2024 - Women Pro Podium
The Championship results: Full finishing order and times after emphatic India Lee win
India Lee (GBR) took the win at The Championship 2024.
The Championship 2024 women’s results: India Lee takes back-to-back titles and breaks her 2023 record
triathlon on your terms
Never miss out with our triathlon alerts & digest. Get a dose of adventure & inspiration with Boundless.
Invalid email address
The SBRX Group

Proudly elevating endurance sports through content, products & services

Share to...