Vicky Holland, Ryan Sissons secure Mooloolaba ITU World Cup victories

Vicky Holland and Georgia Taylor-Brown secured a British one-two today in Australia, with strong performances at the Mooloolaba ITU Triathlon World Cup

Chief Correspondent
Last updated -

A British one-two as Holland and Taylor-Brown dominate in Australia


New Zealand take Gold and Silver for the men, as Dijkstra starts 2020 in good form

It is looking increasing likely that racing options for athletes, Elite or otherwise, are going to very limited – certainly in the near term. Given that background, today’s Mooloolaba ITU Triathlon World Cup was a very welcome (and early morning) watch, as well as a racing opportunity for those on the Sunshine Coast in Queensland.


Elite Women

For Vicky Holland and Georgia Taylor-Brown, things couldn’t have gone much better. But for a stomach bug for Jessica Learmonth, who was also due to race, could it have been an all British podium sweep? We’ll never know the answer to that one.

Emma Jeffcoat (AUS) and Kirsten Kasper (USA) were first to emerge from the 750m (non-wetsuit) sea swim, but a long line of athletes closely followed, including all four of the British entrants inside the top ten, with Olivia Mathias and Sian Rainsley joining their senior colleagues with a strong start.

Two groups formed on the bike, with Taylor-Brown very evident pushing the pace towards the front of the leading pack, while behind, Andrea Hewitt (NZL) and Ashleigh Gentle (AUS) were the high profile names seeking to bridge the gap, which never really grew to much above 15 seconds. That they did, leaving a large group of athletes descending on the T2 dismount line in close order.

Jeffcoat had a great transition and in the early stages held a narrow lead of five seconds, but Holland and Taylor-Brown soon emerged as the strongest of the chasers. Once they had taken the lead, they never looked threatened and it was going to be a head-to-head for the top spot on the podium.

Holland but in an effort just before the end of the final climb of three, and gaining a second or two, extended that advantage on the downhill and pulled clear, to enable her to enjoy the finish straight, via the best run split of the day (16:55).  Taylor-Brown (17:11) was a clear second, leaving Gentle to get the better of Hewitt in a sprint for the final podium position. Despite her fine run, post-race, Holland commented that the bulk of her training to date has been around her swimming and cycling, so she was pleasantly by her performance.

Elite Men

As he has done many times before, Richard Varga (SVK) set the pace for a long line of athletes through the water, where barely 30 seconds separated the entire field with no breaks of any note.

The four British athletes – Dijkstra, Yee, Bishop and Dickinson – were all safely in the front pack and highly visible too, often at the front and keeping the pace high. With the fest running legs of Alex Yee (and Ben Dijkstra), things were looking good.

Yee’s opportunity for success was derailed with a mechanical (puncture, I believe), which put him several minutes out of contention at T2 (though, probably no consolation, he did continue and produce the best run split, despite finishing up in 37th).

As the early kilometres of the run shaped up, a group of eight looked set to decide the race, which included three New Zealand athletes (Ryan Sissons, Hayden Wilde, Sam Ward), two Aussies (Luke Willian, Matthew Hauser), Kevin McDowell (USA), Kenji Nener (JPN) and Ben Dijkstra.

Just as Holland did for the women, the decisive move came on the third and final ascent of the three-lap run course. Hayden Wilde – who recently won the New Zealand 5,000m Championships – but in a big surge, and only Sissons could go with him. They pulled clear, reached the blue carpet shoulder-to-shoulder and it was Sissons who (just) got the better of the sprint. Luke Willian denied Ben Dijkstra of the final podium slot.

Mooloolaba ITU Triathlon World Cup – Saturday 14th March 2020
750m / 20km / 5km


1st – Vicky Holland (GBR) – 57:46
2nd – Georgia Taylor-Brown (GBR) – 58:01
3rd – Ashleigh Gentle (AUS) – 58:13
4th – Andrea Hewitt (NZL) – 58:14
5th – Elizabeth Bravo (ECU) – 58:18

18th – Sian Rainsley (GBR) – 59:23
19th – Olivia Mathias (GBR) – 59:40


1st – Ryan Sissons (NZL) – 51:50
2nd – Hayden Wilde (NZL) – 51:50
3rd – Luke Willian (AUS) – 51:54
4th – Ben Dijkstra (GBR) – 51:57
5th – Sam Ward (NZL) – 52:01

14th – Thomas Bishop (GBR) – 52:46
37th – Alex Yee (GBR) – 55:13
38th – Samuel Dickinson (GBR) – 55:20

John Levison
Written by
John Levison
TRI247's Chief Correspondent, John has been involved in triathlon for well over 30 years, 15 of those writing on these pages, whilst he can also be found commentating for events across the UK.


In episode 1 of our new SBRX Show we sit down with ultra runners and coaches Kim and Jayson Cavill to get their take on the Barkley Marathons and triathlon & trail running gear reviews, training tips and more
Discover more
sumarpo triathlon swimming wetsuit
Sumarpo Vanguard triathlon and swimming wetsuit review – Can it challenge the mainstream tri wetsuit brands?
sea swimming sumarpo triathlon wetsuit
How to get faster at open water swimming – triathlon swim training tips to up your race pace
Challenge St. Pölten 2023 - Photo Credit José Luis Hourcade
Best middle distance triathlon bike courses – from the fastest courses to the most epic scenery
TRI-FIT RAPID-X goggles black
TRI-FIT RAPID-X swimming goggles review – A contender for the best swim goggles for pool and open water?
Challenge St. Pölten 2023 - Photo Credit José Luis Hourcade
Five reasons to race Challenge St. Pölten – kickstart your race season with this scenic middle distance triathlon
latest News
India Lee wins The Championship 2023 photo credit Challenge Family
Top contenders name their biggest rivals ahead of The Championship clash in Slovakia
ST GEORGE, UTAH - MAY 07: Anne Haug of Germany reacts after crossing the finish line in third place during the 2021 IRONMAN World Championships on May 07, 2022 in St George, Utah. (Photo by Tom Pennington/Getty Images for IRONMAN)
Anne Haug bounces back with SENSATIONAL season opener at IRONMAN Lanzarote
Emma Pallant-Browne finished the day with a remarkable run in Mallorca.
IRONMAN 70.3 Chattanooga: Start time, preview and how to watch live
Team Norway wins Mixed Relay at European Games
Team Norway seal the deal in Huatulco at last chance Olympic Games qualifier
Kristian Blummenfelt Paris Test Event [Photo credit: World Triathlon / Wagner Araujo]
Kristian Blummenfelt admits he was “expecting more” from WTCS Yokohama
triathlon on your terms
Never miss out with our triathlon alerts & digest. Get a dose of adventure & inspiration with Boundless.
Invalid email address
The SBRX Group

Proudly elevating endurance sports through content, products & services

Share to...