Tauranga Half 2022: Currie and Clarke on top in New Zealand

Braden Currie and Rebecca Clarke start 2022 in style with wins at the Tauranga Half in New Zealand

Chief Correspondent
Last updated -

With a history dating back to 1990, the Tauranga Half at Mount Manganui, New Zealand is one of the longest standing events on the Kiwi triathlon calendar. With a prize purse of $15,500 (NZD) shared between the top five men and women, it invariably draws a quality field too.


Currie makes it three

2021 IRONMAN New Zealand champion, Braden Currie, finished the year ranked #18 in the PTO Rankings, and is no stranger to this race. Second last year to Kyle Smith – when Smith’s winning margin was just 10 seconds – Currie was back on top of the podium today, adding to previous wins in 2016 and 2017.

Setting the pace in the swim, Currie was joined on the bike by Mike Phillips (who finished second to Currie in Taupo last year), before quickly taking the lead out of T2 and talking a comfortable victory, finishing with a 1:13:16 run split. A great start to his year.

The fastest run split of the day – 1:11:37 – allowed Jack Moody to take the silver. He has now finished 2nd / 2nd / 3rd / 2nd over the last four editions, with XTERRA specialist, Sam Osborne, rounding out the podium trio.

Rebecca Clarke, finally, on top in Tauranga

Like the men’s winner, Rebecca Clarke is no stranger to this race. Unlike Currie however – until today at least – she hadn’t managed to top the podium. She had previously finished 6th / 5th / 3rd / 2nd / 3rd over the previous five editions. She now has her name on race roll of honour.

Hot on the heels of Simone Ackermann out of the water, Clarke then took control on the bike and completed the 90km ride eight minutes quicker than the South African, who finished 17th at the Olympic Games in Tokyo. Ackermann was making her middle distance debut.

While Simone clawed back almost three minutes on the run, Clarke was not threatened and finished a full five minutes clear to finally take the Tauranga title.

Tauranga Half results, New Zealand – Saturday 22nd January 2022
1.9km / 90km / 21.1km


  • 1. Braden Currie (NZL) 3:40:13
  • 2. Jack Moody (NZL) 3:43:42
  • 3. Sam Osborne (NZL) 3:47:02
  • 4. Matt Kerr (NZL) 3:48:55
  • 5. Lucas Duross (NZL) 3:55:38


  • Rebecca Clarke (NZL) 4:15:53
  • Simone Ackerman (RSA) 4:20:54
  • Deb Fuller (NZL) 4:24:25
  • Emily McNaughton (NZL) 4:34:26
  • Nikkola Matthews (NZL) 4:35:02
John Levison
Written by
John Levison
TRI247's Chief Correspondent, John has been involved in triathlon for well over 30 years, 15 of those writing on these pages, whilst he can also be found commentating for events across the UK.


In episode 1 of our new SBRX Show we sit down with ultra runners and coaches Kim and Jayson Cavill to get their take on the Barkley Marathons and triathlon & trail running gear reviews, training tips and more
Discover more
Anne Haug wins IRONMAN Lanzarote 2024
Anne Haug bounces back with SENSATIONAL season opener at IRONMAN Lanzarote
Jenny Lucas-Hill wearing the Sumarpo vanguard triathlon wetsuit
Sumarpo Vanguard triathlon and swimming wetsuit review – Can it challenge the mainstream tri wetsuit brands?
sea swimming sumarpo triathlon wetsuit
How to get faster at open water swimming – triathlon swim training tips to up your race pace
Challenge St. Pölten 2023 - Photo Credit José Luis Hourcade
Best middle distance triathlon bike courses – from the fastest courses to the most epic scenery
Challenge St. Pölten 2023 - Photo Credit José Luis Hourcade
Five reasons to race Challenge St. Pölten – kickstart your race season with this scenic middle distance triathlon
latest News
Alex Yee, Hayden Wilde WTCS Cagliari 2024 finish
Paris gold medal favourites Alex Yee and Hayden Wilde say they relished battle at WTCS Cagliari
Alex Yee, Hayden Wilde WTCS Cagliari 2024 finish
WTCS Cagliari Results: Full finishing order and times with Yee vs Wilde, NIGHTMARE for Blummenfelt and more Olympic triathlon clues
WTCS Cagliari 2024 Women podium & Series leader - Cassandre Beaugrand, Lisa Tertsch, Emma Lombardi, Beth Potter
WTCS Cagliari results: Full finishing order and times as Cassandre Beaugrand masterclass sets tone for Paris
Beth Potter, Emma Lombardi WTCS Cagliari 2024
Beth Potter and Cassandre Beaugrand react to Paris dress rehearsal after WTCS Cagliari clash
Alex Yee, Hayden Wilde WTCS Cagliari 2024 finish
WTCS Cagliari 2024 results: Alex Yee and Hayden Wilde provide another INCREDIBLE finish
triathlon on your terms
Never miss out with our triathlon alerts & digest. Get a dose of adventure & inspiration with Boundless.
Invalid email address
The SBRX Group

Proudly elevating endurance sports through content, products & services

Share to...