Challenge Malta 2022 Results: Heldoorn, Thoes top the podiums

A relatively small entry saw Germany and Netherlands claim the wins at the debut edition of this race

Chief Correspondent
Last updated -

First announced in November 2021, the debut edition of Challenge Malta took place on Sunday 15 May.

A relatively small entry saw Germany and Netherlands top the Pro Women and Men’s podiums, respectively.


Thoes chases down Sainter

Despite exiting the water three minutes down on Great Britain’s Chantal Sainter (nee Cummings) and Margi Santimaria (ITA), Germany’s Svenja Thoes – winner of Challenge Sardinia back in 2018 – was able to fight back to top spot.

She halved her deficit to the British athlete on the bike – overtaking Santimaria in the process – and then with a closing run of 1:20:31, sealed the deal to catch Chantal and eventually cross the line with a winning margin of around seven and half minutes.


Keeping it in the family

The name Niek Heldoorn (NED) is likely a new name for almost all of you – but the surname may ring a few bells. Niek’s father, Frank Heldoorn won IRONMAN UK (Sherbourne) in 2006, was twice a winner at IRONMAN Lanzarote and finished in the top-10 in Kona, three-times.

Those genes were put to good use on Sunday, when Niek exited the swim in a leading group with Caleb Noble (AUS) and Ognjen Stojanovic (SRB). Kristian Grue (NOR) powered through on the bike to join Heldoorn and Noble starting the run. Never much between them over the half marathon, the Dutch athlete was finally able to close out the win by just 20 seconds.


Challenge Malta 2022 Results

Sunday 15 May 2022


  • 1. Niek Heldoorn (NED) – 3:44:58
  • 2. Kristian Grue (NOR) – 3:45:18
  • 3. Caleb Noble (AUS) – 3:46:00
  • 4. Ognjen Stojanovic (SRB) – 3:48:08
  • 5. Kristian Rød (NOR) – 3:49:19
Challenge Malta 2022 podium men

PRO Women

  • 1. Svenja Thoes (GER) – 4:17:17
  • 2. Chantal Sainter (GBR) – 4:24:44
  • 3. Margie Santimaria (ITA) – 4:29:50
  • 4. Valentina D’Angeli (ITA) – 4:39:17
  • 5. Dominique Lothaller (AUT) – 4:56:40
Challenge Malta 2022 podium women
John Levison
Written by
John Levison
TRI247's Chief Correspondent, John has been involved in triathlon for well over 30 years, 15 of those writing on these pages, whilst he can also be found commentating for events across the UK.


In episode 1 of our new SBRX Show we sit down with ultra runners and coaches Kim and Jayson Cavill to get their take on the Barkley Marathons and triathlon & trail running gear reviews, training tips and more
Discover more
Anne Haug wins IRONMAN Lanzarote 2024
Anne Haug bounces back with SENSATIONAL season opener at IRONMAN Lanzarote
sumarpo triathlon swimming wetsuit
Sumarpo Vanguard triathlon and swimming wetsuit review – Can it challenge the mainstream tri wetsuit brands?
sea swimming sumarpo triathlon wetsuit
How to get faster at open water swimming – triathlon swim training tips to up your race pace
Challenge St. Pölten 2023 - Photo Credit José Luis Hourcade
Best middle distance triathlon bike courses – from the fastest courses to the most epic scenery
Challenge St. Pölten 2023 - Photo Credit José Luis Hourcade
Five reasons to race Challenge St. Pölten – kickstart your race season with this scenic middle distance triathlon
latest News
PTO European Open 2023 Ibiza - Max Neumann
Former PTO Tour winner targeting triathlon comeback at London T100 after injury spell
India Lee (GBR) and Kyle Smith (NZL) celebrate together at the finish line in Samorin.
Victorious India Lee and Kyle Smith react to course record breaking day at The Championship
Challenge Family The Championship 2024 - Men Pro Podium
The Championship results: Full finishing order and times for Kyle Smith, Joe Skipper and more
Challenge Family The Championship 2024 - Women Pro Podium
The Championship results: Full finishing order and times after emphatic India Lee win
India Lee (GBR) took the win at The Championship 2024.
The Championship 2024 women’s results: India Lee takes back-to-back titles and breaks her 2023 record
triathlon on your terms
Never miss out with our triathlon alerts & digest. Get a dose of adventure & inspiration with Boundless.
Invalid email address
The SBRX Group

Proudly elevating endurance sports through content, products & services

Share to...