IRONMAN 70.3 World Championship 2023: Start times, dates and how to watch live

Staff Reporter

This is a preview piece for the 2023 IRONMAN 70.3 World Championships, which was won by Germany’s Rico Bogen and America’s Taylor Knibb.

The best middle-distance triathletes in the world have congregated in Lahti, Finland as they battle it out for the IRONMAN 70.3 World Championship crown, with a stellar field of professional men and women racing in the Land of a Thousand Lakes this weekend.

Taylor Knibb defended her women’s title in emphatic fashion on Saturday, and on Sunday Kristian Blummenfelt bids to follow suit when the pro men take centre stage. Here is all you need to know…

Start time and dates

The pro men race on Sunday August 27 with a local start time of 07:30. This corresponds to 00:30 on the East Coast of the United States, 05:30 in the UK and 06:30 Central European Time. On the West Coast, the race will begin at 21:30 PST on Saturday August 26.

Watch the IRONMAN 70.3 World Championship live!

You can watch the race live right here with the embed of the live IRONMAN feed…just click below.


IRONMAN 70.3 World Championship course

Lahti is a Finnish city situated one hour outside of the capital Helsinki. The athletes will complete the 1900m swim in Lake Vesijärvi, before embarking on a single-lap bike course which takes in the surrounding countryside. To finish, the race will take in two laps with some punchy hills on the run, before ending with a sprint down the finishing chute near the city’s ski jumps.

IRONMAN 70.3 World Championship Past Winners

  • 2023: tbc/Taylor Knibb (USA)
  • 2022: Kristian Blummenfelt (NOR) / Taylor Knibb (USA)
  • 2021: Gustav Iden (NOR) / Lucy Charles-Barclay (GBR)
  • 2019: Gustav Iden (NOR) / Daniela Ryf (SUI)
  • 2018: Jan Frodeno (GER) / Daniela Ryf (SUI)
  • 2017: Javier Gomez (ESP) / Daniela Ryf (SUI)
  • 2016: Tim Reed (AUS) / Holly Lawrence (GBR)
  • 2015: Jan Frodeno (GER) / Daniela Ryf (SUI)
  • 2014: Javier Gomez (ESP) / Daniela Ryf (SUI)
  • 2013: Sebastian Kienle (GER) / Melissa Hauschildt (AUS)
  • 2012: Sebastian Kienle (GER) / Leanda Cave (GBR)
  • 2011: Craig Alexander (AUS) / Melissa Rollison (AUS)
  • 2010: Michael Raelert (GER) / Jodie Swallow (GBR)
  • 2009: Michael Raelert (GER) / Julie Dibens (GBR)
  • 2008: Terenzo Bozzone (NZL) / Joanna Zeiger (USA)
  • 2007: Andy Potts (USA) / Mirinda Carfrae (AUS)
  • 2006: Craig Alexander (AUS) / Samantha McGlone (CAN)
Zwift Promo
Tomos Land
Written by
Tomos Land
Tomos Land is a triathlon & running journalist whose expertise lies in the professional world of short course & long distance triathlon, though he also boasts an extensive knowledge of ultra-running.
Latest News
Claire Cashmore World Paratriathlon Championship Abu Dhabi 2022
Claire Cashmore shortlisted for Sunday Times Disability Sportswoman of the Year award
Kristian Blummenfelt reveals the biggest benefits of training with superstar team-mate Gustav Iden
Sam Laidlow IRONMAN World Championship 2023 breaks tape for victory
The Sam Laidlow project: The big secret to his success, and what makes his journey different
George Peasgood September 2023 smiles teacup photo credit: @chrisdaysays on Instagram
George Peasgood is busy living, one year on from horror crash as he continues to defy the odds
Ruth Astle St George finish line 2022 photo credit Tom Pennington Getty Images for IRONMAN
Ruth Astle preparing for Kona with “nerves and excitement” after a challenging year of setbacks