Windsor Triathlon 2017 preview: another win for Emma Pallant?

Chief Correspondent

27th edition of the Nuffield Health Royal Windsor Triathlon on Sunday

While it has seemingly been part of the UK triathlon scene forever, it is still worthy of note that Saturday’s Nuffield Health Royal Windsor Triathlon will be the 27th edition of the event.

Lots of changes to the race this year too, with a new bike course (HERE) and a new run course (MORE DETAILS), which takes in The Long Walk in Windsor Park.

Nuffield Health Royal Windsor Triathlon adds The Long Walk
Nuffield Health Royal Windsor Triathlon adds The Long Walk

While the sport has grown immensely since the early days of the race, and the number of racing options on offer now are vast, a look through the list of winners of the race (below) shows that adding your name to that archive of star names of British triathlon is still a significant achievement.


Elite race prospects

Can Emma Pallant equal a Windsor record?

Once again the huge pre-race favourite for the women is Emma Pallant. Winner of three of the last four editions, another victory would tie her for most female wins with 2000 Sydney Olympian, Sian Brice, who won in 1996, 1997, 1999 and 2000. She has been in great form this year already, with wins at Challenge Gran Canaria and IRONMAN 70.3 Barcelona  already this year. Can anyone challenge her this time around? Probably not.

“It was a tough descsion not to race the European’s (Ed. 70.3 Champs in Denmark), but after a lot of travel and taper and getting ill after Barcelona, then a puncture in Slovakia, I just needed to get stuck into the first of our two training blocks in prep for our key race of the year, the World 70.3. I haven’t trained properly now since March, so have had my head down in London and the first two weeks have gone really well and I’m doing Windsor as part of this block; no taper and will be riding two hours there and back on the day to make a good training day out of it. Looking forward to seeing everyone racing there!”

Who will take the men’s title?

The men’s race looks much more open, and a quick glance through the start list suggests – to me at least – that two names to watch out for are Mark Threlfall and Thomas Davis.

Thomas took second place in the race last year to Stuart Hayes and will surely be keen to make the final step on to the podium in the absence of the London 2012 Olympian.

I’m really looking forward to heading back to Windsor this year, as it suits my style of racing, with a fast swim and hard, strong run. The course is slightly different this year, but hopefully I can have a similar performance, and maybe go one step better.

Thomas Davis Windsor Triathlon 2016
While Mark Threlfall is more focussed on middle distance racing currently (earning a big win at the Outlaw Half), he has been in fine form on the bike (recording a 20:29 ’10’ on the bike just last night). Combined with his always front-pack swimming, he’ll be in the mix from the start.

I’ve got great memories of racing at Windsor when it was a draft legal race. It always suited my strengths, and it’s a great venue. I’m looking forward to racing it over the non-drafting format. I have a few athletes that I coach racing also, so it’s going to be great toeing the line with them.

Mark Threlfall - Outlaw Triathlon 2017
Mark Threlfall – Outlaw Half Triathlon 2017

For more details on the race, visit:


Year Men Women
2016 Stuart Hayes Emma Pallant
2015 Stuart Hayes Sarah Lewis
2014 Mark Buckingham Emma Pallant
2013 Tom Bishop Emma Pallant
2012 Tim Don Jacqui Slack
2011 Tom Bishop Lois Rosindale
2010 Steve Worthington Vanessa Raw
2009 Stuart Hayes Jodie Stimpson
2008 Richard Stannard Andrea Whitcombe
2007 Richard Stannard Sam Herridge
2006 Tim Don Helen Tucker
2005 Andrew Johns Liz Blatchford
2004 Andrew Johns Julie Dibens
2003 Dermot Galea Jodie Swallow
2002 Richard Allen Heather Williams
2001 Andrew Johns Andrea Whitcombe
2000 Tim Don Sian Brice
1999 Spencer Smith Sian Brice
1998 Spencer Smith Beth Thompson
1997 Spencer Smith Sian Brice
1996 Richard Hobson Sian Brice
1995 Spencer Smith Loretta Sollars
1994 Steve Burton Alison Hollington
1993 Colin Dixon Rachel Hamilton
1992 Spencer Smith Alison Hamilton
1991 Spencer Smith Sarah Coope


Stuart Hayes Windsor Triathlon

Latest News
Cassandre Beaugrand WTCS Leeds 2022
Brownlee and Beaugrand head fields at European Cup Quarteira
Patrick Lange Challenge Roth 2022 Press Conference
Lange and Laidlow set for showdown at Challenge Gran Canaria
Jonny Brownlee Arena Games photo credit SLT
Jonny Brownlee and Gustav Iden confirmed for Arena Games London
Gwen Joorgensen third place in Taupo comeback in 2023 photo credit Simon Dawson Photography
New Plymouth World Cup 2023: Start time, preview and how to watch live
Joe Skipper IRONMAN Arizona 2022 [Photo credit Patrick McDermott Getty Images for IRONMAN]
‘My best chance’ – Joe Skipper relishing Nice edition of IRONMAN World Champs