Fyn 2018: GB Age-Group medals: Duathlon World’s – Sprint

Another British medal-fest for the GB Age-Group team in Denmark

ITU Sprint Distance Duathlon World Championship roundup from Fyn

After Friday’s Age-Group Standard Distance (HERE) and Elite / Under-23 / Junior Duathlon World Championships (HERE), Sunday’s racing at the Fyn ITU Multisport World Championship Festival featured the Age-Group Sprint Distance and Paratriathlon races.

After 27 medals over the Standard Distance on Friday, the British Age-Group team collected 32 medals today over the Sprint Distance events.

All of the reports and news from Fyn:

Danny Russell (35-39) was the fastest athlete overall, just seven seconds quicker than Mexico’s Ramos Herrera Zavaleta, who just got the better of another Brit, Daniel Jenkin, who collected his second medal in three days, this time a Silver (M30-34).

The fastest overall female British Age-Group athlete today was Samantha Fawcett (30-34), who took Gold in her division. She was the second fastest Age-Group athlete on the day, 40 seconds slower than Madlen Kappeler (GER).

In the Paraduathlon race, Mark Conway (PTWC) and Adrian Howden (PTS4) both earned Silver medals.

Check out the full roundup of British medallists below.

Multi-medallists – Sprint and Standard

Three British athletes collected medals in both the Standard and Sprint Distance races:

  • Daniel Jenkin: Gold (Standard) and Silver (Sprint) – M30-34
  • Jane Holmes: Silver (Standard) and Gold (Sprint) – F65-69
  • Angela Joiner-Handy: Bronze (Standard) and Bronze (Sprint) – F45-49

Fynske Bank ITU Multisport World Championship, Fyn, Denmark 
ITU Duathlon World Championships – Age-Group, Sprint Distance
5km / 20km / 2.5km

British Age-Group Medals (32)

GOLD (8)

  • Felix Wernham – M20-24
  • Josie Cram – F25-29
  • Kelvin Gomez – M25-29
  • Samantha Fawcett – F30-34
  • Danny Russell – M35-39
  • Sue Clarke – F60-64
  • Jane Holmes – F65-69
  • Anne Dockery – F70-74


  • Holly Dixon – F20-24
  • Rebecca York – F30-34
  • Daniel Jenkin – M30-34
  • Nicola Timmins – F35-39
  • Gwen Kinsey – F40-44
  • Ella Towers – F45-49
  • Cathy Dawson – F50-54
  • Ian Reid – M50-54
  • Amanda Young – F55-59
  • Adam Prentis – M55-59
  • Mick Anglim – M70-74


  • Lotti Knights – F16-19
  • Sandy Holl – M16-19
  • Sarah Grover – F20-24
  • Lee Thompson – M30-34
  • Marie Brush – F40-44
  • Angela Joiner-Handy – F45-49
  • Karen Murphy – F50-54
  • Leon Field – M50-54
  • Sarah Gill – F55-59
  • Stephen Valentine – M55-59
  • Phil Hurr – M60-64
  • Anne Hurrell – F65-69
  • John Peacock – M65-69
Jan Frodeno Zwift Tri Battle Royale 2021
IRONMAN Kona fallout: Messick and co start to pick up pieces
Why did IRONMAN decide on that controversial Kona split?
Andrew Messick CEO IRONMAN Group
Andrew Messick on how IRONMAN Kona plan fell apart
IRONMAN Kona analysis: Everybody gets what nobody wants
Mark Allen IRONMAN World Championship Road To St George
Mark Allen: The GOAT responds to IRONMAN’s Kona split plan
Latest News
Flora Duffy Georgia Taylor Brown Abu Dhabi 2022 photo credit Wagner Araujo World Triathlon
Who wins long vs short course battles at first Global Triathlon Awards?
Challenge Salou 2022: Fenella Langridge finish
Langridge and Long top Challenge World Bonus standings
Tom Bishop / PTO US Open 2022 Dallas (Photo Credit: James Mitchell / PTO)
‘One of the best experiences I’ve had’ – Daytona delight for Bishop
Paula Findlay Indian Wells 2022 Patrick McDermott Getty Images for IRONMAN
‘Raising the bar’ – Findlay praises Jewett’s stunning Indian Wells run 
Coach Malcolm Brown Team GB
Brownlees laud coach Malcolm Brown as he receives IOC Award