Gordon Benson, Sam Dickinson sprint to ETU Gold and Silver in Kazan

Chief Correspondent

A British one-two in Russia as Benson and Dickinson dominate


European Sprint Distance Triathlon Championship success in Russia

Russia has proven once again to be a happy hunting ground for Great Britain’s Gordon Benson, the winner on Saturday – via a sprint finish – of the 2019 ETU Triathlon European Sprint Distance Championships in Kazan.

The Elite Sprint Distance European Championships was added to the ETU schedule three years ago, with past British success including Sophie Coldwell (Gold, 2018 in Tartu) and Lucy Hall / Jess Learmonth / Grant Sheldon (Gold / Silver / Bronze, 2016 in Châteauroux). Another British Gold and Silver now to add to that history.

Back in 2014, Benson won the U23 European Champs in Penza, also in Russia, and Saturday’s race went very smoothly, when a group of five – Benson, Sam Dickinson, Denis Vasiliev (RUS), Igor Polyanskiy (RUS) and Rostislav Pevtsov (AZE) – escaped early in the bike after the non-wetsuit swim, and by T2 the medals would almost certainly be decided amongst them.


It was clear from the very start of the 5km that the Brits would go head-to-head for Gold, with Dickinson in only his second race back (he won the first one), looking to challenge to 2016 Rio Olympian, Benson has been in consistent form this year and running well, but the title would not be decided until the blue carpet where the 2015 European Games Gold medallist was able to just edge out last years U23 World Championship Silver medallist. Both recorded 15:02 run splits


(Sprint finish from 46:00)

Gordon Benson / Sam Dickinson / Samuel Dickinson - Kazan ETU Sprit Triathlon European Championships 2019
Photo: Ceci Frascaroli / ETU Triathlon

Kazan ETU Sprint Triathlon European Championships – Saturday 27th July 2019
750m / 20km / 5km


1st – Gordon Benson (GBR) – 52:03
2nd – Samuel Dickinson (GBR) – 52:04
3rd – Rostislav Pevtsov (AZE) – 52:36
4th – Jan Celustka (CZE) – 52:54
5th – Felix Duchampt (ITU) – 52:55

15th – James Teagle (GBR) – 53:37


1st – Julie Derron (SUI) – 58:49
2nd – Petra Kurikova (CZE) – 59:11
3rd – Tamara Gomez Garrido (ESP) – 59:23
4th – Carlotta Missaglia (ITA) – 59:30
5th – Anastasia Abrosimova (RUS) – 59:43

Latest News
Kristian Blummenfelt and Gustav Iden head to head on the run
‘You can’t just copy and paste’ – Blu and Iden on the Norwegian method
Alistair Brownlee Kalmar 2022 win photo credit Getty Images for IRONMAN
Alistair Brownlee talks training, 2023 targets and the Norwegians
Sebastian Kienle
Scary dreams and Zombie Hill – Sebastian Kienle’s Norseman challenge
Vincent Luis
“I wake up everyday to be Olympic Champion” – Luis on Paris 2024
Sam Long relaxed
Sam Long reveals the big news – ‘Little Unit’ is on the way!