Alistair Brownlee & Jan Frodeno among wildcards for PTO European Open

Alistair Brownlee and Jan Frodeno have been named among the wildcards for next month’s inaugural PTO European Open in Ibiza.

The British star and the GOAT are two of eight picks across the men’s and women’s races, and will take on PTO World #1 Kristian Blummenfelt – and seven of the world’s top 10 – in a tantalising battle on May 6.

It will be the first time the trio of Brownlee, Frodeno and Blummenfelt – the sport’s three Olympic gold medallists since 2008 – have competed in the same race.

Big names

Australia’s Cameron Wurf, who was fifth at IRONMAN South Africa last month, and Germany’s Justus Nieschlag, who claimed an impressive victory at IRONMAN 70.3 Lanzarote, are the other two wildcards for the men’s field.

On the women’s side, New Zealand’s Amelia Watkinson fronts a strong quartet as she looks to continue her run of finishing on the podium at every event she’s raced at in the past two seasons.

Denmark’s Sif Madsen, who was second at CLASH Miami this year, Germany’s Anne Reischmann and Netherlands’ Els Visser, who has enjoyed a strong start to her season, are the other three picks.

Frodeno thrilled

Frodeno was delighted with his wildcard pick for the PTO European Open and the prospect of going up against the Olympic Champion Blummenfelt, who informed the German of his inclusion with a phone call shared on the PTO’s Instagram.

“The way we’re both going we need to get there first,” Frodeno joked. “Oh man, it’s on. It actually gives me goosebumps.”

World #3 Magnus Ditlev (DEN) and #4 Sam Laidlow (FRA) will also be in action at what is poised to be an exciting men’s race on the Mediterranean island.

The women’s edition is equally as fascinating, with Australia’s Ashleigh Gentle, the current PTO World #1, looking to add to her PTO Open wins in Edmonton and Dallas last year.

The full women’s podium from the 2022 IRONMAN World Championships in Kona are also involved as Chelsea Sodaro, Anne Haug and Lucy Charles-Barclay further compliment an immensely strong field.


PTO European Open Men’s Start List

  • Kristian Blummenfelt (NOR)
  • Magnus Ditlev (DEN)
  • Sam Laidlow (FRA)
  • Max Neumann (AUS)
  • Leon Chevalier (FRA)
  • Florian Angert (GER)
  • Frederic Funk (GER)
  • Aaron Royle (AUS)
  • Patrick Lange (GER)
  • Daniel Baekkegard (DEN)
  • Ben Kanute (USA)
  • Miki Taagholt (DEN)
  • Jason West (USA)
  • Bradley Weiss (RSA)
  • Pięter Heemeryck (BEL)
  • Thomas Bishop (GBR)
  • Rudy Von Berg (USA)
  • Kristian Hogenhaug (DEN)
  • Kyle Smith (NZL)
  • Mathias Petersen (DEN)
  • Ben Hoffman (USA)
  • David McNamee (GBR)
  • Filipe Azevedo (POR)
  • Alistair Brownlee (GBR)
  • Jan Frodeno (GER)
  • Cam Wurf (AUS)
  • Justus Nieschlag (GER)

PTO European Open Women’s Start List

  • Ashleigh Gentle (AUS)
  • Lucy Charles-Barclay (GBR)
  • Paula Findlay (CAN)
  • Daniela Ryf (SUI)
  • Anne Haug (GER)
  • Chelsea Sodaro (USA)
  • Laura Philipp (GER)
  • Holly Lawrence (GBR)
  • Emma Pallant-Browne (GBR)
  • Lisa Norden (SWE)
  • Fenella Langridge (GBR)
  • Kat Matthews (GBR)
  • Tamara Jewett (CAN)
  • Jocelyn McCauley (USA)
  • Sara Perez Sala (ESP)
  • Ellie Salthouse (AUS)
  • Grace Thek (AUS)
  • India Lee (GBR)
  • Lucy Byram (GBR)
  • Rebecca Clarke (NZL)
  • Lotte Wilms (NED)
  • Barbara Riveros (CHI)
  • Daniela Bleymehl (GER)
  • Maja Nielsen (DEN)
  • Luisa Baptista (BRA)
  • Els Visser (NED)
  • Sif Madsen (DEN)
  • Anne Reichsmann (GER)
  • Amelia Watkinson (NZL)
Olly Green
Written by
Olly Green
Latest News
Ruth Astle St George finish line 2022 photo credit Tom Pennington Getty Images for IRONMAN
Ruth Astle pulls back the curtain on mental side of injury with Challenge Roth a doubt
Laura Philipp IRONMAN 703 Kraichgau 2023 [Photo credit: IRONMAN Germany]
Laura Philipp back to full training ahead of massive showdown at Challenge Roth
IRONMAN Hamburg bike course 2023 photo credit Getty Images for IRONMAN
Andrew Messick says IRONMAN believed its Hamburg moto plan was safe
Joe Skipper on IRONMAN Hamburg tragedy: “Something like this was going to happen sooner or later”
IRONMAN Hamburg bike course out and back
IRONMAN Hamburg tragedy – Andrew Messick says racing on was the right call