T100 World Tour

Collins Cup 2021 blog: How Europe claimed the prize

Relive how Team Europe claimed the Collins Cup with John Levison's Samorin blog.

Last updated -
T100 Triathlon World Tour
Redefining triathlon

This is a replay of our live blog of the 2021 Collins Cup – click here for full report and results from Samorin.

After all the years of waiting it is finally here – the Professional Triathletes Organisation’s (PTO) inaugural Collins Cup event pits three ‘superpower’ teams against each other in Samorin, Slovakia today (Saturday) and you can can follow every second live in our special blog.

We will provide live coverage as the drama unfolds, with John Levison on site to provide the insight.

Who will win the Collins Cup?

The marquee event will see Team US, Team Internationals and Team Europe, each made up of 12 individuals – six male and six female – go head to head on the banks of the River Danube in 12 separate races, with each start list dictated by an exciting new draft format.

Team Europe have been backed by many as favourites for the Collins Cup, with their formidable line-up featuring the likes of Jan Frodeno, Gustav Iden and Joe Skipper on the men’s side – who sit at #1, #3 and #5 respectively in the PTO World Rankings – while the women include #1 Daniela Ryf, #3 Anne Haug and #4 Lucy Charles-Barclay.

There are still some top athletes across both other teams though, with women’s number #2 Teresa Adam lining for Team Internationals along with men’s #2 Lionel Sanders, while Team US features men’s #4 Sam Long.

The draft format allows teams to make tactical decisions to better their chances of gaining more points, but it will take a monumental effort to overcome the mighty Team Europe.


How does scoring work at the Collins Cup?

The winner of each race gets three points, the second receives two points and the third-place finisher gets one.

There are also bonus points on offer for the margin of victory:

  • 1.5 points for six minutes or more
  • 1 point for four minutes
  • 0.5 points for two minutes

The team with the most points at the end of the 12 races lifts the (soon to be) famous trophy.


Who’s racing who?

The draft for the Collins Cup took place on Wednesday, teeing up a series of tantalising match-ups. They are:

When does the Collins Cup start?

The first women’s race gets underway at 13:00 local time (12:00 BST, 07:00 EST, 04:00 PST), while the first men’s race starts at 15:00 local time (14:00 BST, 09:00 EST, 06:00 PST).

The PTO reached an agreement with Eurosport to provide ‘multi-platform’ coverage across Europe, with the race set to be broadcast in 20 different languages.

Seven-hour coverage will appear on Eurosport 2, simulcast on the Eurosport App, while a shorter highlight show will air on Sunday on Eurosport 1. 

Written by
Dan Grey
Digital media expert with a long history in triathlon having started at London & Blenheim Triathlon. Formerly Ful-On Tri, delayed Chrissie Wellington at Roth & have a chequered history with La Santa.
Discover more
TRI-FIT Geo Coral women's tri suit
TRI-FIT GEO Women’s Tri Suit Review – How does it fare in our quest for the ultimate long course kit?
TRI-FIT women's sleeveless tri suit
5 race day mistakes that are sabotaging your triathlon times (and how to fix them)
Kate Auld riding on an indoor trainer
Rouvy vs Zwift: our indoor cyclists put them to the test
Professional triathletes on the bike course at Challenge Almere-Amsterdam
Fastest triathlon courses: Best IRONMAN, long course and middle distance races for a sure-fire personal best
Patagonman swim start
6 tips for taking on an Xtreme triathlon from a PATAGONMAN champion
latest News
Chelsea Sodaro takes the tape at the 2024 IRONMAN New Zealand.
Former IRONMAN World Champion delighted after bouncing back to first full distance win since Kona
World Triathlon Cup Miyazaki 2023 Gwen Jorgensen
Olympic gold medalist praises Boulder training environment ahead of WTCS season opener
Chelsea Sodaro PTO Asian Open 2023 run [Photo credit: PTO / Darren Wheeler]
IRONMAN New Zealand results: Steve McKenna and Chelsea Sodaro take the tape in Taupo
Third placed finisher Braden Currie sits on podium at St George photo credit IRONMAN
Former champion makes shock last minute withdrawal from IRONMAN New Zealand
Lucy-Charles Barclay and Daniela Ryf - IRONMAN World Championship 2023 Press Conference
Triathlon legend Daniela Ryf announces SHOCK retirement and reveals calendar for final season
Story to tell?
Share interesting & inspirational stories with our news team
The SBRX Group

Proudly elevating endurance sports through content, products & services

Share to...