Volcano Triathlon 2023: Kate Curran, Dieter Comhair take Lanzarote wins

Great Britain's Kate Curran toppled defending champion Sara Perez Sala, for an early season victory at the Volcano Triathlon 2023

Chief Correspondent
Last updated -

The long-standing Volcano Triathlon at Club La Santa, Lanzarote, has been an early season warm-up for athletes for many decades now, often coming at the end of a week or two of pre-season training at the hugely popular Canary Island training venue.

It’s a race that has, on the women’s side especially, seen a long run of British success. That came to halt 12 months ago, but ‘normal service’ was resumed today, as Kate Curran ran to victory, passing the defending champion, Sara Perez Sala, in the process.



12 months ago (when she finished 11th overall), Kate Curran exited the swim second, 1:45 down on the fast-swimming Perez Sala. Same positions again 12 months on, but Curran – who turned Pro in late 2022, finishing eighth in Cascais – showed her progression, reducing that deficit to just 43 seconds this time around.

As one of the strongest swim-bikers around, home athlete Perez Sala continued her defence of the Volcano title on the bike with the second fastest bike leg (1:08:28), with only another Brit, Lydia Dant, quicker on two wheels (1:08:08). Curran has been training in Lanzarote for a couple of weeks however, and has clearly upped her game on the bike too, as with a 1:09:04 split, she was very much in the mix starting the 10km run, little more than a minute down.

From there, the Brit took control and a swift 34:41 split saw her catch and pass Sara early in the run, pushing on to an impressive winning margin of three minutes. It would be silver for Sala, with Denmark’s Maja Stage just holding off Dant to complete the 1/2/3.

When you consider that Perez Sala won The Championship and Challenge Gran Canaria in 2022, and is currently the PTO’s #21 ranked athlete, that should be a huge confidence booster for Curran, that her work over the winter has been working.


While Sara Perez Sala went from first to second between 2022 and 2023 edition, it was the reverse for Belgium’s Dieter Comhair, as he reached the top step of the podium.

The opening 1.5km swim saw a trio of Brits exit together; Reece Barclay, Jorge Wilkes and Jonathan Jackson. Comhair had plenty of work to do at this stage, two and a half minutes down as he reached dry land in 18th position.

The Belgian made his move on the the bike, and with one of the few sub-hour bike splits of the day, he would start the run alongside Nicola Duchi (ITA) and Pello Osoro Gutierrez (ESP), with Loughborough-based Louis Woodgate (GRE) just 30 seconds behind that trio.

Those four athletes would go on to finish in the top four positions, with Comhair producing the fastest run (31:09) to reach the line 24 seconds ahead of Italy’s Duchi, and Gutierrez taking third.

Previous Volcano Triathlon winners:

2022: Sara Perez Sala (ESP / Gregory Barnaby (ITA)
2021: Lydia Dant (GBR) / Raúl Lecuona Gil-Roldán (ESP)
2020: No race
2019: Lucy Charles (GBR) / Emilio Aguayo Muñoz (ESP)
2018: Alice Hector (GBR) / Emilio Aguayo Muñoz (ESP)
2017: Alice Hector (GBR) / Romain Guillaume (FRA)
2016: Alice Hector (GBR) / Kenneth Vandendriessche (BEL)
2015: Corinne Abraham (GBR) / Bert Jammaer (BEL)

Club La Santa Volcano Triathlon 2023

Saturday 25th February 2023
1.5km / 40km / 10km


  • 1. Dieter Comhair (BEL) – 1:55:39
  • 2. Nicola Duchi (ITA) – 1:56:03
  • 3. Pello Osoro Gutierrez (ESP) – 1:57:02
  • 4. Louis Woodgate (GRE) – 1:57:53
  • 5. Jonathan Jackson (GBR) – 1:58:01


  • 1. Kate Curran (GBR) – 2:07:38
  • 2. Sara Perez Sala (ESP) – 2:10:41
  • 3. Maja Stage (DEN) – 2:11:36
  • 4. Lydia Dant (GBR) – 2:12:07
  • 5. Kahina Mebarki (ESP) – 2:22:40
John Levison
Written by
John Levison
TRI247's Chief Correspondent, John has been involved in triathlon for well over 30 years, 15 of those writing on these pages, whilst he can also be found commentating for events across the UK.


In episode 1 of our new SBRX Show we sit down with ultra runners and coaches Kim and Jayson Cavill to get their take on the Barkley Marathons and triathlon & trail running gear reviews, training tips and more
Discover more
Anne Haug wins IRONMAN Lanzarote 2024
Anne Haug bounces back with SENSATIONAL season opener at IRONMAN Lanzarote
Jenny Lucas-Hill wearing the Sumarpo vanguard triathlon wetsuit
Sumarpo Vanguard triathlon and swimming wetsuit review – Can it challenge the mainstream tri wetsuit brands?
sea swimming sumarpo triathlon wetsuit
How to get faster at open water swimming – triathlon swim training tips to up your race pace
Challenge St. Pölten 2023 - Photo Credit José Luis Hourcade
Best middle distance triathlon bike courses – from the fastest courses to the most epic scenery
Challenge St. Pölten 2023 - Photo Credit José Luis Hourcade
Five reasons to race Challenge St. Pölten – kickstart your race season with this scenic middle distance triathlon
latest News
Alex Yee, Hayden Wilde WTCS Cagliari 2024 finish
Paris gold medal favourites Alex Yee and Hayden Wilde say they relished battle at WTCS Cagliari
Alex Yee, Hayden Wilde WTCS Cagliari 2024 finish
WTCS Cagliari Results: Full finishing order and times with Yee vs Wilde, NIGHTMARE for Blummenfelt and more Olympic triathlon clues
WTCS Cagliari 2024 Women podium & Series leader - Cassandre Beaugrand, Lisa Tertsch, Emma Lombardi, Beth Potter
WTCS Cagliari results: Full finishing order and times as Cassandre Beaugrand masterclass sets tone for Paris
Beth Potter, Emma Lombardi WTCS Cagliari 2024
Beth Potter and Cassandre Beaugrand react to Paris dress rehearsal after WTCS Cagliari clash
Alex Yee, Hayden Wilde WTCS Cagliari 2024 finish
WTCS Cagliari 2024 results: Alex Yee and Hayden Wilde provide another INCREDIBLE finish
triathlon on your terms
Never miss out with our triathlon alerts & digest. Get a dose of adventure & inspiration with Boundless.
Invalid email address
The SBRX Group

Proudly elevating endurance sports through content, products & services

Share to...