T100 World Tour

IRONMAN World Championships 2023: Pro qualifiers so far

These are the Pro athletes that have already secured their IRONMAN World Championship 2023 qualification

Chief Correspondent
Last updated -
T100 Triathlon World Tour
Redefining triathlon

The IRONMAN World Championship at Kona (though the men will be at Nice, France, in 2023) is the event every elite athlete wants to win, but first they have to make sure they are among the qualifiers.

Historically at least (!) held in Kailua-Kona, on the west coast of Hawaii Island (‘The Big Island’), the race brings together the very best long-distance triathletes on the planet to compete for the coveted title.

The inaugural event back in 1978 was the brainchild of US Navy Commander John Collins and his wife Judy, with 15 competitors taking on the gruelling course. The first races were held on Oahu, before the move to the Big Island in 1981.

US Navy Communications Specialist Gordon Haller was crowned as the first-ever IRONMAN Champion, finishing in 11:46:58.

The COVID pandemic meant the absence of the Kona race in both 2020 and 2021, while the 2022 season saw the unusual situation of two IRONMAN World Champions crowned.

The postponed October 2021 edition took place in St George, Utah on May 7 2022 with Daniela Ryf and Kristian Blummenfelt taking the ‘2021’ Pro titles.

After three years, racing returned to Hawaii – over two separate race days – on October 6 and October 8 2022, with brilliant races won by Chelsea Sodaro and Gustav Iden.

(Photo by Tom Pennington/Getty Images for IRONMAN)

The 2022 Pro Men’s race saw four men inside the previous course record (7:51:13) time set by three-time champion, Jan Frodeno, in 2019. That title now resides with Iden, who stopped the clock (including a 2:36:15 marathon), at 7:40:24.

(Photo by Tom Pennington/Getty Images for IRONMAN)

In 2018, five-time IRONMAN World Champion, Daniela Ryf clocked a Kona course record for the women’s race, finishing in 8:26:18.

IMWC 2023 qualifiers

The 2023 IRONMAN racing season is now in progress, and below is the current list of names who have qualified for the 2023 IRONMAN World Championship. Previous IRONMAN World Champions receive a five year qualification Champion Exemption, and podium finishers (2nd / 3rd) from the 2022 race also qualify (2022 Podium Exemption).

In addition to the above, winners of the 2022 IRONMAN 70.3 World Championship will also receive an exemption / auto-qualification.

NOTE: Previous requirements regarding exemption athletes gaining their slots subject to completing a validation race have been removed from the latest IRONMAN Pro Qualifying Rules document.

PRO MEN (56)

  • Bart Aernouts (BEL)
  • Sam Appleton (AUS)
  • Leonard Arnold (GER)
  • Daniel Baekkegard (DEN)
  • Gregory Barnaby (ITA)
  • Cody Beals (CAN)
  • Matt Burton (AUS)
  • Kristian Blummenfelt (NOR)
  • Tuan Tun Chang (TWN)
  • Leon Chevalier (FRA)
  • Denis Chevrot (FRA)
  • Reinaldo Colucci (BRA)
  • Rémi Conte (FRA)
  • Braden Currie (NZL)
  • Magnus Ditlev (DEN)
  • Nathan Dotrmann (AUS)
  • Georg Enzenberger (AUT)
  • Adam Feigh (USA)
  • Jan Frodeno (GER)
  • Kristian Grue (NOR)
  • Arnaud Guilloux (FRA)
  • Maximilian Hammerle (AUT)
  • Matt Hanson (USA)
  • Pieter Heemeryck (BEL)
  • Niek Heldoorn (NED)
  • Benjamin Hill (AUS)
  • Jonas Hoffmann (GER)
  • Kristian Hogenhaug (DEN)
  • Arthur Horseau (FRA) – wildcard
  • Gustav Iden (NOR)
  • Ben Kanute (USA)Deferred to Kona 2024
  • Sam Laidlow (FRA)
  • Patrick Lange (GER)
  • Chris Leiferman (USA)
  • Franz Loeschke (GER)
  • Andre Lopes (BRA)
  • Matthew Marquardt (USA)
  • Oliver Martinussen (DEN)
  • Steve McKenna (AUS)
  • Brent McMahon (CAN)
  • Justin Metzler (USA)
  • Clement Mignon (FRA)
  • Max Neumann (AUS)
  • Mathias Petersen (DEN)
  • Ben Philips (AUS)
  • Mike Philipps (NZL)
  • Andrea Salvisburg (SUI)
  • Joe Skipper (GBR)
  • Rasmus Svenningsson (SWE)
  • Jesper Svensson (SWE)
  • Luciano Taccone (ARG)
  • Jan Van Berkel (SUI)
  • Rudy von Berg (USA)
  • Bradley Weiss (RSA)
  • Michael Weiss (AUT)
  • Robert Wilkowiecki (POL)
  • Cameron Wurf (AUS)
(Photo by Ezra Shaw/Getty Images for IRONMAN)


  • Alice Alberts (USA)
  • Jen Annett (CAN)
  • Ruth Astle (GBR)
  • Hannah Berry (NZL)
  • Daniela Bleymehl (GER)
  • Mariana Borges De Andrade (BRA)
  • Lauren Brandon (USA)
  • Laura Brown (AUS)
  • Lucy Charles-Barclay (GBR)
  • Susie Cheetham (GBR)
  • Haley Chura (USA)
  • Rebecca Clarke (NZL)
  • Jeanne Collonge (FRA)
  • Sarah Crowley (AUS)
  • Carla Dahan (FRA)
  • Gurutze Frades Larralde (ESP)
  • Manon Genet (FRA)
  • Kate Gillespie-Jones (AUS)
  • Anne Haug (GER)
  • Hilary Hughes (IRL)
  • Laura Jansen (GER)
  • Agnieszka Jerzyk (POL)
  • Radka Kahlefeldt (CZE)
  • Meredith Kessler (USA)
  • Taylor Knibb (USA)
  • Leonie Konczalla (GER)
  • Chloe Lane (AUS)
  • Fenella Langridge (GBR)
  • Danielle Lewis (USA)
  • Kat Matthews (GBR)
  • Justine Mathieux (FRA)
  • Jocelyn McCauley (USA)
  • Melanie McQuaid (CAN)
  • Skye Moench (USA)
  • Fiona Moriarty (IRL)
  • Lisa Norden (SWE)
  • Gabriele Obmann (AUT)
  • Pamella Oliveira (BRA)
  • Laura Philipp (GER)
  • Barbara Riveros (AUS)
  • Jodie Robertson (USA)
  • Daniela Ryf (SUI)
  • Kylie Simpson (AUS)
  • Penny Slater (AUS)
  • Chelsea Sodaro (USA)
  • Maja Stage Nielsen (DEN)
  • Sara Svensk (SWE)
  • Svenja Thoes (GER)
  • Sarah Thomas (GBR)
  • Sarah True (USA)
  • Michelle Vesterby (DEN)
  • Els Visser (NED)
  • Alexandra Watt (USA)
  • Lotte Wilms (NED)
  • Rachel Zilinskas (USA)
  • Laura Zimmermann (GER)
KAILUA KONA, HAWAII - OCTOBER 06: Lucy Charles-Barclay of Great Britain (2nd), Chelsea Sodaro (1st) and Anne Haug of Germany (3rd) celebrate after finishing the Ironman World Championships on October 06, 2022 in Kailua Kona, Hawaii. (Photo by Tom Pennington/Getty Images for IRONMAN)
Photo by Tom Pennington/Getty Images for IRONMAN

When are the IRONMAN World Champs in 2023?

The IRONMAN World Championships will take place over two days (and two venues) in 2023 and in two different venues.

The women will on Saturday October 14 in Hawaii, with the men racing at in Nice, France on Sunday 10 September.

John Levison
Written by
John Levison
TRI247's Chief Correspondent, John has been involved in triathlon for well over 30 years, 15 of those writing on these pages, whilst he can also be found commentating for events across the UK.
Discover more
TRI-FIT Geo Coral women's tri suit
TRI-FIT GEO Women’s Tri Suit Review – How does it fare in our quest for the ultimate long course kit?
TRI-FIT women's sleeveless tri suit
5 race day mistakes that are sabotaging your triathlon times (and how to fix them)
Kate Auld riding on an indoor trainer
Rouvy vs Zwift: our indoor cyclists put them to the test
Professional triathletes on the bike course at Challenge Almere-Amsterdam
Fastest triathlon courses: Best IRONMAN, long course and middle distance races for a sure-fire personal best
Patagonman swim start
6 tips for taking on an Xtreme triathlon from a PATAGONMAN champion
latest News
RaceRanger installation PTO European Open 2023 Ibiza
IRONMAN announce new partnership with draft detector RaceRanger for the 2024 season
Steve McKenna got the win at the 40th edition of IRONMAN New Zealand.
Australian star Steve McKenna shares emotional message after IRONMAN New Zealand win
Chelsea Sodaro takes the tape at the 2024 IRONMAN New Zealand.
Former IRONMAN World Champion delighted after bouncing back to first full distance win since Kona
World Triathlon Cup Miyazaki 2023 Gwen Jorgensen
Olympic gold medalist praises Boulder training environment ahead of WTCS season opener
Chelsea Sodaro PTO Asian Open 2023 run [Photo credit: PTO / Darren Wheeler]
IRONMAN New Zealand results: Steve McKenna and Chelsea Sodaro take the tape in Taupo
Story to tell?
Share interesting & inspirational stories with our news team
The SBRX Group

Proudly elevating endurance sports through content, products & services

Share to...