IRONMAN World Championship 2021: Pro qualifiers for St George

Qualification is closed for St George and here are the details.

Last updated -
T100 Triathlon World Tour
Redefining triathlon

The IRONMAN World Championship is the event every elite athlete wants to win, but first they have to make sure they are among the qualifiers.

Normally held in Kailua-Kona, on the west coast of Hawaii Island (‘The Big Island’), the race brings together the very best long-distance triathletes on the planet to compete for the coveted title.

The inaugural event back in 1978 was the brainchild of US Navy Commander John Collins and his wife Judy, with 15 competitors taking on the gruelling course.

The October 2021 version was postponed due to the ongoing COVID pandemic, and after a further reschedule from February 22 it will now take place in St George, Utah on May 7, 2022. It will then return to its spiritual home in October 2022.

US Navy Communications Specialist Gordon Haller was crowned as the first-ever IRONMAN Champion, finishing in 11:46:58.

Dave Scott, Paula Newby-Fraser, Mark Allen and Natascha Badmann are among an array of athletes that have since etched their name into the event’s history by claiming multiple Ironman World Championship titles.

2021 will be the 44th edition of the legendary competition, with up to 100 slots available across the professional men’s and women’s races, and hundreds more age-group athletes set to compete.

Jan Frodeno is the current course record holder for the men’s race, after his sensational 7:51:13 saw him clinch victory in 2019.

The year prior, Switzerland’s Daniela Ryf clocked a course record for the women’s race, finishing in 8:26:18.

Qualifiers for St George

Athletes spent a large part of 2021 aiming to secure their places at St George, and now both professional fields are set.

Below is the list of names who have confirmed their places on the starting line:

PRO MEN (51)


  • Teresa Adam (New Zealand) – WITHDRAWN
  • Ruth Astle (United Kingdom)
  • Nikki Bartlett (United Kingdom)
  • Mirinda Carfrae (Australia) – WITHDRAWN
  • Lucy Charles-Barclay (United Kingdom)WITHDRAWN/INJURED
  • Haley Chura (United States)
  • Judith Corachan Vaquera (Spain) – WITHDRAWN
  • Linsey Corbin (United States)
  • Sarah Crowley (Australia) – WITHDRAWN
  • Chantal Cummings (United Kingdom) – WITHDRAWN
  • Kelly Fillnow (United States)
  • Gurutze Frades Larralde (Spain)
  • Tara Grosvenor (United Kingdom) – WITHDRAWN
  • Anne Haug (Germany)
  • Heather Jackson (United States)
  • Meredith Kessler (United States)
  • Renee Kiley (Australia)
  • Tessa Kortekaas (Spain)
  • Chloe Lane (Australia) – WITHDRAWN
  • Fenella Langridge (United Kingdom)
  • Carolin Lehrieder (Germany)
  • Carrie Lester (United States) – WITHDRAWN
  • Justine Mathieux (France) – WITHDRAWN
  • Katrina Matthews (United Kingdom)
  • Rachel McBride (Canada)
  • Jocelyn McCauley (United States)
  • Simone Mitchell (United Kingdom) – WITHDRAWN
  • Skye Moench (United States)
  • Kimberley Morrison (United Kingdom) – WITHDRAWN
  • Angela Naeth (Canada)
  • Lisa Norden (Sweden)
  • Laura Philipp (Germany) – WITHDRAWN
  • Sarah Piampiano (United States) – WITHDRAWN
  • Daniela Ryf (Switzerland)
  • Joanna Ryter (Switzerland)
  • Laura Siddall (United Kingdom)
  • Imogen Simmonds (Switzerland) – WITHDRAWN
  • Kylie Simpson (Australia) – WITHDRAWN
  • Maja Stage-Nielsen (Denmark)
  • Sara Svensk (Sweden) – WITHDRAWN/INJURED
  • Michelle Vesterby (Denmark) – WITHDRAWN
  • Amelia Watkinson (New Zealand) – WITHDRAWN
  • Hannah Wells (New Zealand) – WITHDRAWN
  • Laura Zimmermann (Germany)

St George 2021 qualifiers – upcoming races

Qualification has now been completed.


When is the 2021 IRONMAN World Championship?

The 2021 IRONMAN World Championship will take place in St George, Utah on May 7, 2022.

Olly Green
Written by
Olly Green
Olly is is been the content lead for RUN247, is a regular contributor to TRI247 and keeps an eye out for content that appeals to both audiences including interviews with pro Heather Jackson.
Discover more
Kate Auld riding on an indoor trainer
Rouvy vs Zwift: our indoor cyclists put them to the test
Triathlete riding a time trial bike wearing a Ryzon tri suit
Tri suit buying guide: how to find your perfect tri suit
Cameron Brown signs off with seventh in his 25th and final appearance at IRONMAN New Zealand photo credit Graeme Murray
What is an average & good time for a triathlon?
Professional triathletes on the bike course at Challenge Almere-Amsterdam
Fastest triathlon courses: Best IRONMAN, long course and middle distance races for a sure-fire personal best
PTO European Open 2023 Ibiza - Ashleigh Gentle
Ashleigh Gentle on T100 racing: ‘The best battles are yet to come’
latest News
Sam Long Sam Laidlow Collins Cup press conference photo credit Darren Wheeler and PTO
The Best of Frenemies? Laidlow picks Long as one to watch in Miami
Pieter Heemeryck IRONMAN 70.3 European Championship Tallinn 2023.
PTO star looking to keep the ball rolling after career best season in 2023
Magnus Ditlev en route to another famous win at Challenge Roth 2023
Magnus Ditlev talks triathlon legends, T100 Tour calendar and who he can’t wait to race in 2024
Ben Kanute Escape from Alcatraz 2021
Latest T100 Triathlon World Tour stop announced after PTO unveil iconic location for California race
Mike Phillips IRONMAN New Zealand champion 2023 photo credit Graeme Murray
International stars announced for 40th anniversary of IRONMAN New Zealand
Story to tell?
Share interesting & inspirational stories with our news team
The SBRX Group

Proudly elevating endurance sports through content, products & services

Share to...